Series That Got Worse with Each Book or Season (14 December)

Top Five Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Thoughts on Tomes ! Visit the Goodreads group if you’re interested in joining! This week’s topic is:

December 14th – Series That Got Worse with Each Book/Season
I opened this topic up to TV as well (which T5W is always open to by the way if you can’t think of book answers), but I think this topic is especially good for books and TV. What series started out strong but got increasingly worse with each book?

I am so excited for this week’s topic! Finally, I won’t end up talking about The Raven Cycle, Harry Potter and A Song of Ice and Fire! I’m going to divide this in two parts: first, I will talk about the book series that got worse; then, I will talk about TV series.

Naturally, these are merely my own opinions. I’m sorry if you like these series, so please, don’t take it personally  ❤

As you know by now, these are in no particular order:

Books

December_worse each book_x.png

1. Shatter Me trilogy

Back in 2015 when I read this series, I gave Shatter Me five stars  and Unravel Me and Ignite Me two. I thought Shatter Me was very promising, but as the series went on, the romance became very dominant and I got to dislike Juliette. Furthermore, I was absolutely no fan of Warner.

Having said that, if I were to re-read Shatter Me today, I would never give it five stars again!


2. Never Never by Colleen Hoover and Taryn Fisher

The Never Never novellas started out so promising, but the third and final installment was so disappointing.


3. Throne of Glass series

Okay, I’m completely cheating here. I’ve only read Throne of Glass and The Assassin’s Blade. But from people I trust, I know I won’t like what is going to happen next. Therefore, I have no interest in ever continuing it. Even though I quite enjoyed the books I read, I’m not going to force myself to read something I know I won’t enjoy.


I can’t think of any more book series. If I liked the second instalment less than the first one, there’s a big chance I didn’t continue it. For example, I DNF’ed the Mortal Instruments series, Falling Kingdoms series, Young Elites trilogy…

TV series

December_worse each season_x.png

1. Shameless U.S.

A couple of years ago, Shameless U.S. was my favourite series. But every season, they did the same stuff over and over again (like Frank’s shitty behaviour and Fiona saying ‘fuck it’ and prioritizing herself over her siblings). Furthermore, I absolutely hated the way they treated Mickey (and Mandy, for that matter) and didn’t watch season 6 and 7 anymore. Now that Mickey’s back, however, I am going to watch his scenes. But only his! I don’t care about any of the other characters anymore.


2. The Walking Dead

The same can be said of The Walking Dead. They’ve run out of ideas, so each season features the same idea: they need to find a new place, but encounter bad people. Furthermore, there is the moral dilemma each character has underwent, some multiple times.

Besides, I hate the stuff they do for shock value. Killing beloved characters in the most gruesome way is not good writing. And don’t even get me started on them only killing off people of colour and queer characters!

After the season 7 premiere, we decided we aren’t going to watch The Walking Dead anymore. Like I said, shock value does not equal good writing. We didn’t enjoy what we saw and there’s no need to continue watching something you know won’t get better.


3. Teen Wolf

My sister and I watched Teen Wolf until about half of season 6. The storyline was all over the place and we didn’t care much about the characters anymore.

I’m not saying that the first season of TW was the best, but after the third season, everything sure went downhill.


4. Supernatural

Honestly, I’m only mentioning series my sister forced me to watch here 😀 She used to love Supernatural, but also doesn’t watch it anymore. I guess showrunners never know when enough is enough.


Okay, I’m sure there are more examples, but my brain must’ve blocked them out 😉  Which series do you think got worse with each book or season?


☆ You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! ☆

12 thoughts on “Series That Got Worse with Each Book or Season (14 December)

  1. chucklesthescot says:

    I’ve only seen the start of season one of Supernatural and almost to the end of The Walking Dead season two and loved what I’ve seen so far but the ads for the latest WD series don’t look inspiring. I haven’t started watching Teen Wolf yet but I plan to when time allows…if it ever does!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

