the Instagram book tag

I was tagged by Kayla (@kdrewkthebookworm) to do the Instagram book tag, which she created! Thank you very much, Kayla!

I actually have an original book tag drafted, which was going to revolve around Bookstagram. But Kayla beat me to it ๐Ÿ˜‰ Either way, this one is very different than the one I had in mind, and much more fun!

You can have a look at my very own Bookstagram here.


Feed: Many people give a special theme to their Instagram feeds, or none at all. Are most of the books you read of the same genre, or do you like to mix it up?

The majority of the books I read, are marketed as Young Adult. Though within that ‘genre’, I read all kinds of different books, such as contemporaries, fantasies, historical fiction…


Filter: Instagrammers often put filters onto their photos to make them look vibrant and beautiful. Name a book with a stunning cover!

I’m a sucker for beautiful covers! Who isn’t though? ๐Ÿ˜€ I can’t possibly pick a favourite, but I’m still obsessed with the And I Darken cover.

and_i_darken


Following: On Instagram, users follow others to see what they post, and basically for a little mash-up of their lives. Name a book character whose steps you always enjoy following.

There are so many characters I love reading about. One of my favourites is Sansa Stark. Not that that is surprising to anyone ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m attached to an abundance of characters in the series (both the books and the show), but if she were to die, that would break my heart the most. I don’t want her story to end.


Followers: Many celebrities have millions of Instagram followers. Name a hyped-up book read by thousands that you were hesitant to read, but ended up devouring.

I never thought I’d like The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski. I’m not a fan of romances. Surprisingly, I really enjoyed it! However, I can’t remember anything about it anymore, even though I only read it back in April.


Direct Message: DMs are often used to send pictures found on Instagram to others, or simply just to chat. Name a book you always recommend to others.

Another answer that won’t surprise anyone: The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater! It’s my favourite series and trust me when I say that the synopsis doesn’t do it justice.


Bio: Instagram bios can be up to 150 characters long, and can be used to give some general information about yourself. Name a book with a catchy blurb that hooked you in.

I don’t like to read blurbs, because they tend to reveal too much. But after reading the synopsis of Girl Mans Up, I immediately had to buy it and was desperate to love it. Thankfully, I did. This is the synopsis:

All Pen Oliveira wants is to be the kind of girl sheโ€™s always been. So why does everyone have a problem with it? They think the way she looks and acts means sheโ€™s trying to be a boyโ€”that she should quit trying to be something sheโ€™s not. If she dresses like a girl and does what her folks want, it will show respect. If she takes orders and does what her friend Colby wants, it will show her loyalty. But respect and loyalty, Pen discovers, are empty words.

Pen makes tough choices, has her friendsโ€™s backs, and is done feeling bad about who she is. Old-world parents, disintegrating friendships, and strong feelings for other girls drive Pen to see the truthโ€”that in order to be who she truly wants to be, sheโ€™ll have to man up.

However, as I explained in my review, I detest the phrase ‘to man up’. Too bad it’s even in the title!


Unfollow: Sometimes youโ€™ll like someoneโ€™s feed at first, but then you lose interest and decide to unfollow them. Name a book you liked at first, but over time, the love wore off.

I could provide you with an entire list ๐Ÿ˜‰ As a rule, I don’t change my ratings. If I started doing that, it would become a full-time job. My opinion constantly changes and though it might be more transparent toward others to alter my reviews and ratings, I don’t want to start doing it.

When I read A Court of Thorns and Roses, I quite liked it and planned on reading the sequel, A Court of Mist and Fury. However, when that one came out, I realised I would not enjoy it, because I think Rhysand is problematic and don’t like romanticising that behaviour. And even though I own Crown of Midnight, I won’t continue the Throne of Glass series either. I’m just not a fan of Sarah J. Maas and the techniques she uses and how she tried to justify the lack of diversity.

Even though I am a huge, huge Potterhead, I am fed up with J.K. Rowling. Enough is enough. I hated Harry Potter and the Cursed Child and I doubt the Fantastic Beasts franchise needs to be five movies long. Furthermore, J.K. Rowling appropriated other cultures while creating the Ilvermorny houses and I generally dislike the way she talks about diversity, being it race or LGBTQ. Even though I still very much love the Harry Potter universe, I don’t like JKR anymore and I am very much afraid that, the way things are going, the series will be ruined for me. Hopefully, it won’t come to that.


Notifications: Whether you admit it or not, everyone loves and waits anxiously to see the pink notification button pop up at the bottom of their Instagram feed. Name an unreleased book that youโ€™ve been anxiously awaiting.

Even though I am still reading A Feast for Crows and A Dance with Dragons is still on my TBR, I am very much looking forward to the release of The Winds of Winter, whenever that will take place.

I recently read a rumour that the sixth and seventh book will be released at the same time! While I doubt whether that is true, I would love that. Sure, I would have to avoid all social media for a couple of years (because of my reading pace ๐Ÿ˜‰ ), but I’m dying to find out how the series is going to end.


Hashtag: Many Instagrammers use hashtags to get their photos out there, or just for fun. Create yourself a bookish hashtag! It could be anything from just your blogโ€™s name, to something crazy spectacular!

#criticalreaders, because I always love encountering other readers who are, like myself, quite critical. While I am happy for those who tend to love the majority of the books they read, I always enjoy hearing people’s thorough and critical thoughts. However, critical does not mean ‘dislike and tear down everything’. I’m talking about readers who discuss diversity, problematic behaviour…


Story: Many Instagrammers love using Instagramโ€™s Story feature to let their followers know what theyโ€™re currently up to. Name a book youโ€™re currently reading!

I schedule all my post in advance. It’s November 8th today and I’m reading Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon. I’m at page 117.

EDIT: Unfortunately, I ended up DNF’ing this book.


Tag: Many people tag friends in their photos because they were together when the picture was taken, or simply just because. Tag 5 awesome bloggers that youโ€™d like to see take on this tag!

โ˜† You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! โ˜†

(scheduled on November 8th, 2016)

4 thoughts on “the Instagram book tag

Leave a Reply

