Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

alices_adventures_in_wonderlandAlice’s Adventures in Wonderland

by Lewis Carroll

read from 16 to 18 December 2016

rating: ★☆☆☆☆

spoiler-free review

Many people describe Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland as nonsense, and that is exactly the way I would call it as well. I truly have no idea what I read. I probably understood only ten percent of it. Maybe that says more about me than the book, but I even had the feeling as if I was reading the wrong book and skipped the first instalment in a series.

I had never read Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland before. As a child, I picked it up a few times, but never finished it. This time around, I had to force myself to finish it, because I really want to achieve my 2016 reading challenge. Furthermore, I’ve never seen the 1951’s adaptation, only the one released in 2010. Still, I had certain expectations going into this. Everyone knows about the iconic Mad Hatter and Cheshire Cat, yet they’re not even that important in the book! That’s the reason why I was so confused. Everything I knew about Alice in Wonderland, wasn’t even in the book!

Honestly, there wasn’t a single thing I liked about it (besides the cover). Fifty pages in and the only thing that had happened so far was that Alice had grown and shrunk multiple times. That trope was overused! As for the other chapters, I had no clue what was going on there. Also, in Wonderland there was quite a lot of animal abusive, which I didn’t enjoy either.

I’m already preparing myself for the comments of other readers, telling me that I ‘misunderstood’ the book and that it’s my fault and not the book’s that I didn’t enjoy it. Please, if you plan on telling me stuff like that: don’t. I didn’t enjoy it, so please respect my opinion.

Nor do I think I would’ve enjoyed this more as a child. Truly nothing made sense to me and it wasn’t as deep and meaningful as I had expected it to be. I’m 100% sure Carroll was on some serious drugs while writing this. I’ve read somewhere that there are tons of references to people who were still alive when Carroll wrote this. So, this book, I assume, offers critique, but it still doesn’t explain it’s success today.

I am genuinely saddened that I didn’t enjoy this. I own three copies of this book, for crying out loud! I don’t plan on reading the sequel Through the Looking Glass, as I have no interested in visiting Wonderland again.

conclusion: I was so confused while reading Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, I even thought I was reading the wrong book (I legit looked it up!). Therefore, I didn’t enjoy it. From now on, I am going to stick to the 2010 film adaptation.


☆ You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! ☆

2 thoughts on “Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

Leave a Reply

