The ‘I Dare You’ book tag

It’s Sunday, so time for another book tag! Today, I will be doing the ‘I dare you’ book tag, which was created by bookfandom1001. These are the rules:

  • You have to be honest;
  • You have to answer every question;
  • You have to tag at least four people.

1. Which book has been on your shelves the longest?

I only got into reading when I was about 17 or 18 years old. As a child, I picked up Alice and Wonderland a couple of times, but never managed to finish it. In the meantime, I have also acquired an English copy (actually two), but I still haven’t started it.

Edit: In the meantime, I’ve read it and unfortunately didn’t like it. I posted my review on Thursday. 


2. What is your current read, your last read and the book you’ll read next?

I schedule all of my posts in advance. I wrote this on November 8th. The last book I read was Girl Mans Up and I’m currently reading Everything, Everything. Because I am a mood reader, I don’t know what I am going to read next yet.


3. What book did everyone like and you hated?

I have so many books I could choose from!

Everyone seems to love the Falling Kingdoms series, which is often described as the Game of Thrones for young adults, but I could not finish the second book. I don’t even remember what it’s called anymore. The characters annoyed me and I wasn’t interested in finding out what was going to happen next.


4. Which book do you keep telling yourself you’ll read, but you probably won’t?

Once again, I could go for a couple of books. I constantly keep buying new ones, even though I’ve owned some books for years and still haven’t picked them up. A couple of years ago, I just had to have Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. Same with Carry On. Now, however, I don’t have a lot of desire to read those anymore.


5. Which book are you saving for “retirement?”

Well, it will take many decades before I retire (I’m only 21 years old), but I’m saving The Secret History by Donna Tartt and Rick Riordan’s books for when I have a lot of free time.


6. Last page: read it first or wait till the end?

I never read the last page first!


7. Acknowledgements: waste of ink and paper or interesting aside?

I don’t think they’re a waste of ink and paper, but I do have to admit I don’t always read them.


8. Which book character would you switch places with?

Anyone at Hogwarts, so I could experience the magic myself!


9. Do you have a book that reminds you of something specific in your life (a person, a place, a time)?

I read the Winner’s Curse and the Captive Prince trilogy when I was ill at home due to a surgery, so when I think of those books, I also think about lying in bed and not being able to do much else besides reading. 


10. Name a book you acquired in some interesting way?

When I ordered Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell, I received fifty copies of it! I was very surprised at first, but apparently, it wasn’t a mistake.


11. Have you ever given away a book for a special reason to a special person?

After reading We Should all be Feminists, I ordered two more copies: a ‘clean’ one for myself (because I highlighted so many parts in my first copy) and one for my sister.


12. Which book has been with you to the most places?

Probably the books in the A Song of Ice and Fire series. I’ve taken them with me on a school trip, to the hospital, when I have to go to college…


13. Any “required reading” you hated in high school that wasn’t so bad two years later?

I can’t think of any. Most of the time, we had to read classics or adult books and those are often not my favourites.

Besides, I haven’t re-read any required reads yet.


14. What is the strangest item you’ve ever found in a book?

I have no idea. I never borrow books, so the chances of finding something odd, are slim.


15. Used or brand new?

Brand new. We don’t have a lot of used bookstores here and surely not many which sell English books. And if they do, it’s classics…


16. Have you ever read a Dan Brown?

No, I haven’t. The majority of the books I read are marketed as Young Adult. For the time being, I don’t have the desire to read adult books often. Nor do I actually have the desire to read a book written by Dan Brown. It doesn’t really appeal to me.


17. Have you ever seen a movie you liked better than the book?

I won’t continue The Mortal Instruments, but I do plan on continuing the Shadowhunters TV series. It’s not that great either, but I still enjoy it more than the books.


18. A book that should NEVER have been published.

According to people of colour, The Continent by Kiera Drake is racist. It hasn’t been released yet (planned in 2017), but a lot of people received ARCs. I can’t believe such books can get approved in 2016! Carve the Mark and Nevernight are racist as well :/ 


19. Have you ever read a book that’s made you hungry, cookbooks being excluded from this question?

Maybe Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda? The characters talk about Oreos often and though I used to think they don’t look delicious, they really are!

Honestly though, I always get either hungry or sleepy while reading.


20. Who is the person whose book advice you’ll always take?

Probably my sister, because we have the same taste.


I tag… (Please, don’t feel obligated to do this!)

(scheduled on November 8th, 2016)


☆ You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! ☆

6 thoughts on “The ‘I Dare You’ book tag

Leave a Reply

