T10T: best books of 2016 (27 December)

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish and you can have a look at the future topics here! This week’s topic is:

December 27: Top Ten Best Books Of 2016 (you choose — best books overall of what you read regardless of pub date, of a particular genre, 2016 debuts, 2016 releases, etc)

I’m going to make a list of the best books I read in 2016! I won’t take the publication date, genre… into account and I won’t include any re-reads! Still, this is going to be difficult. I struggled with a reading slump for months and the majority of the books were just average. There weren’t a lot of books I absolutely loved 😦 Yes, there were books I enjoyed while I read them, but don’t remember much about now. And I don’t think that’s a good sign, so I won’t talk about those.

You can have a look at all the books I read this year here!

For once, these are in a particular order! I won’t take my ratings into account much. Instead, I will make up this list based on feeling.


5. And I Darken by Kiersten White (review)

and-i-darken

Though there were quite a few things I didn’t like about And I Darken, such as the stereotypical portrayal of a gay character and that it was quite boring at times, I want to include it on this list. I loved the setting and it wasn’t as trope-y as most YA fantasies (though this is actually a historical fiction retelling). The main reason why this is among my favourites of 2016, is because I want to read more books like it. And I Darken wasn’t perfect, but it certainly is going to influence my reading taste.


4. Girl Mans Up by M-E Girard (review)

girl-mans-up

Just like And I Darken, Girl Mans Up wasn’t perfect. I already had issues when it comes to the title. But, it was so important for me. Not only Pen’s story, but also Blake’s. This year, I accepted that I am bisexual (though actually pansexual, but I prefer to label myself as bi) and it meant so much to me to read positive bisexual representation, unlike some other books I have read this year (If I Was Your Girl and All the Feels) where we are portrayed as e.g. greedy cheaters.

Though I continue to buy contemporaries which I end up not enjoying, Girl Mans Up made me realise that I should not give up on the genre. I truly want to thank Girard for writing this book, especially for exposing straight white boys instead of making up excuses for their nasty behaviour 🙂


3. A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin

storm-of-swords

I started reading A Game of Thrones (review) in 2015, but only finished it this year. In the meantime, I have also read A Clash of Kings (review) and A Storm of Swords (review). On top of that, I’m currently reading A Feast for Crows, though I had to put it down for a while because I really wanted to achieve my 2016 reading challenge.

Anyway, I already was a huge fan of the TV show adaptation (though I also have a lot of issues with it), but as expected, the books are even better.

A Song of Ice and Fire got me over my fear of reading big books (though I still tend to pick up smaller ones instead) and I plan on reading more adult fantasies in the future.


2. We Should All be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (review)

we-should-all-be-feminists

I knew I was going to love We Should All be Feminists. I didn’t expect, however, to pretty much highlight the entire essay and agree with everything the author mentioned. I was already a feminist before reading this, so it hasn’t changed my life or anything, but it has made me realise that I should read non-fiction more often, and also read more from diverse authors. I already did an effort this year to read diverse books, but I have to pay more attention to own voices in 2017.


1. Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys (review)

salt-to-the-sea

Salt to the Sea was hands down my favourite book. The only thing I didn’t like were Alfred’s chapters, but other than that, I loved this book. It was truly life-changing. I’m studying to become a history teacher and this has really changed the way I look at the past, and how it is told.


Which were your favourite books of 2016? 

☆ You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! ☆

10 thoughts on “T10T: best books of 2016 (27 December)

  1. Adalyn @ Glittering Reads says:

    And I Darken was amazing! I really loved Lada! Salt to the Sea was the absolute BEST though. I think it’s tied for my #1 with Crooked Kingdom, but I don’t know?? Both those books were some of the few that have actually made me cry. They were both so emotional and beautiful and heartreaking, but in different ways. I’m so glad i read Salt to the Sea! That book is a glorious work of art!

    Like

  2. jessicacrafts says:

    I’m jealous that you still have ASOIAF books to read haha. I feel like I’ve been waiting for winds of winter all my life. Lol.
    I really need to bump salt to the sea higher up my TBR. I keep hearing great things about it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

