December Wrap-Up

At the start of December, I had read 41 out of 50 books (Goodreads Reading Challenge). Surprisingly, I didn’t read as many books as I did last year, when I only started reading often halfway through the year. At the beginning of 2016, I set my reading challenge to 70 books, but I quickly realised I wasn’t going to succeed. I’ve been in a reading slump and struggle to enjoy most books I pick up.

Anyway, this isn’t a wrap-up of the books I read in 2016, but of the books I read this month. Because I wanted to achieve my reading challenge, I decided to read some shorter books. I’m very happy that I achieved my reading challenge! There are still some days left in 2016, so I might read even more than fifty books, but I won’t pressure myself.


Books I read (click on rating for review)

dec_wrapup_x.png

The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas by John Boyne ➳ ★★☆☆☆

My sister recommended The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas to me, but I unfortunately didn’t enjoy it. I thought the main character was very ignorant. I longed for character development, but it didn’t happen.

Het Kielzog van de Oorlog by Ellen N. La Motte (translated by Erwin Mortier)

I had to read the Dutch translation of The Backwash of War, which was originally written in 1916, for one of my history classes in college. Because this was a mandatory read, I am not going to rate nor review it.

Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire ➳ ★★★★☆

Every Heart a Doorway features the kind of diversity I’d like to see more of. The author includes asexual, transgender and Asian representation, without the characters’ storyline revolving around that aspect. The plot itself, however, was disappointing. I had expected more. Still, I do plan on reading the sequel (which is actually a prequel).

Pottermore Presents: Short Stories from Hogwarts of Heroism, Hardship and Dangerous Hobbies ★★★☆☆,
Short Stories from Hogwarts of Power, Politics and Pesky Poltergeists★★★☆☆
and Hogwarts: An Incomplete and Unreliable Guide ★★★★☆
by J.K. Rowling

I read these in the first place because I needed to achieve my reading challenge. As expected, I didn’t learn much new information. There was even a chapter on cauldrons! I doubt anyone cares about that…

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll ➳ ★☆☆☆☆

I did not expect to dislike Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. Unfortunately, I had no clue what was going on, I even looked up whether I was reading the right book!

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find them by Newt Scamander (J.K. Rowling) ➳ ★★★☆☆

I couldn’t visualise some of the animals and wish more art had been included. Furthermore, too many animals are only found in Europe and North America, which is unrealistic and shows what the world looks like according to J.K. Rowling’s imagination: predominately white countries.

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling ➳ ★★★★★

I finally read the illustrated edition of Philosopher’s Stone. This was a re-read and as usual, I absolutely loved it! For some reason though, it takes me much longer to read Harry Potter novels than other books of the same size. Perhaps because the chapters are so long? I don’t know… Anyway, I’ll post my review next week since I already have posts scheduled for the rest of the week.


Post I uploaded

This is an overview of all the posts I uploaded in December.

‘Top 10 Tuesday’ posts
‘Top 5 Wednesday’ posts
‘Searching Saturday’ posts
book tags
book haul

I’m going to post my book haul tomorrow, so stay tuned 😀 I can already promise you it is going to be a big one: over ten books and tons of new merchandise!


☆ You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! ☆

 

3 thoughts on “December Wrap-Up

    • Chelsea ϟ romweasley says:

      Yes I know, but I reviewed the book, not the movie or screenplay. So that doesn’t really excuse that most creatures can only be found in Europe or USA. Since it’s supposed to be a list of ALL the Fantastic Beasts…

      Like

Leave a Reply

