Bookish Academy Awards 2016

Happy New Year, everyone! I hope 2017 will be filled with happiness and amazing books! Today, I’m going to do the Bookish Academy Awards, created by BOOKadoodles! This tag was created in 2014 (!!!), but I still wanted to do it as a way to wrap-up my reading year. Naturally, I am only going to include the books I read in 2016. You can have a look at that list here. I will try to mention each book (or character) only once. We’ll see how well that goes, since I didn’t read that many books in 2016. Sometimes, there are multiple things I can choose from, but I will limit it to one answer per category! Neither will I include re-reads.

Best Actor (Best Male Protagonist)and-i-darken

And I Darken features two point-of-views: Lada and her brother Radu. Even though I think his sexuality is portrayed in a stereotypical way, I love this character deeply.


Best Actress (Best Female Protagonist)

storm-of-swords

All the female characters in A Song of Ice and Fire! Especially Sansa Stark, but also Arya, Asha, Cersei, Arianne…


Best Cinematography (Best Plot Twist)

crooked-kingdom

Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo are both filled with plot twists!


Best Costume Design (Best Book Cover)

Of the books I have read in 2016, And I Darken probably has the most beautiful cover:

and-i-darken

Best Supporting Actress and Actor (Best Male and Female Sidekick)

raven-king

The best male sidekick is a tie between Adam Parrish and Ronan Lynch. Though they certainly aren’t sidekicks, The Raven King features multiple point-of-views and some chapters are told from theirs.

six-of-crows

I’ve encountered many bad-ass ladies in literature this year and Nina Zenik was one of my favourites. Well, I actually read Six of Crows in 2015, but I re-read in September 😉


Best Original Screenplay (Most Unique Plot/World)

every-heart-a-doorway

Though the execution could’ve been better, the world in Every Heart a Doorway is very unique!


Best Adapted Screenplay (Best Book-to-Movie Adaptation)

fantastic-beasts-and-where-to-find-them

To be honest, I haven’t watched many films this year, nor book-to-movie adaptations. While Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them isn’t an exact adaptation of the book, I did really enjoy it and even miss it!


Best Animated Feature (A book that would work well in animated format)

cinder

This is a very difficult category. When I think of animations, Disney and Dreamworks come to mind. And I haven’t read any books that really fit in that department. The only one I can think of is Cinder by Marissa Meyer, because it features fairytale-elements.


Best Director (A writer you discovered for the first time)

salt-to-the-sea

A couple of weeks ago, I posted my favourite authors I discovered in 2016. Among that list were authors such as George R.R. Martin and Rick Riordan, but my favourite of the year was probably Ruta Sepetys. When I finished Salt to the Sea, I immediately ordered Between Shades of Gray.


Best Visual Effects (Best Action in a Book)

raven-king

Although The Raven King was disappointing, it kept me at the edge of my seat until the very end. Because it was the final instalment in The Raven Cycle I was terrified not everyone was going to have a happy ending. Whether or not that was the case, you should discover for yourself, because I’d recommend this series to everyone!

Six of Crows, Crooked Kingdom and A Song of Ice and Fire also feature great action scenes!


Best Musical Score (Best Music in a book-to-movie adaptation)

suicide-squad

Suicide Squad: the album (not the film score) is so bad-ass!


Best Short Film (Best Novella or Short Book)

we-should-all-be-feministsWe Should all be Feminists is a must-read, especially if you still aren’t convinced why feminism is needed (and why we call it ‘feminism’ instead of something else).


Best Picture (Best Stand-Alone)

girl-mans-up

Girl Mans Up was the best contemporary I’ve read this year!


Best Documentary (Best Historical Fiction or Non-Fiction)

we-should-all-be-feminists

The best non-fiction book I’ve read was We Should all be Feminists.salt-to-the-seaMy favourite historical fiction novel – and book in general – of the year was Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys!


☆ You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! ☆

5 thoughts on “Bookish Academy Awards 2016

Leave a Reply

