T10T: books I had to buy, but still have not read (3 January)

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish and you can have a look at the future topics here!

This week’s topic is actually 2017 debuts I am excited for. Because I’m afraid that list would be rather short, I decided to talk about the books I had to buy, but still haven’t read instead.

Honestly, half of this list is probably going to include books I was dying to read, but probably never will!

Because next week’s topic is 2016 releases I meant to read, but haven’t yet, I won’t include any 2016 releases on this list.

As usual, these are in no particular order:

January_03_x.png

1. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone illustrated edition – J.K. Rowling

When I heard about the illustrated edition of Philosopher’s Stone, I immediately bought it. That was back in October 2015, and I still haven’t picked it up. Believe me, I am dying to re-read the series again, but on the other hand, there are so many other books I still need to read for the very first time.

EDIT: In the meantime, I’ve read this book and reviewed it yesterday πŸ™‚


2. Carry On – Rainbow Rowell

When Carry On was released, seemingly every loved it. So, I had to get a copy. But after about fifty pages, I put it down and never picked it up again. It wasn’t bad or anything, but nothing had happened yet. I don’t want to say I’ll never get to it, but I’m not exactly dying to read it either. Besides, the hype has really died down.


3. Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell

Oops, another Rainbow Rowell novel on this list. Back when I read Eleanor & Park, I was dying to get my hands on Fangirl. That was years ago and I honestly have no interest in ever reading it!


4. Mortal Instruments – Cassandra Clare

Being the idiot that I am, I got the entire Mortal Instruments series before even picking up City of Bones. When I finally read that one, I thought it was okay. They were quite a few things that bothered me though. And that didn’t change while reading City of Ashes. I ended up DNF’ing that one and I have no interest in reading any more of Clare’s books. I don’t like how they’re all connected and if you don’t read one, you’ll get spoiled for the other.

I also own the Bane Chronicles and Clockwork Prince, but like I’ve said, I won’t read those either.


5. the School for Good and Evil series – Soman Chainani

Last year, I got the School for Good and Evil series for my birthday. Back then, some of my favourite booktubers were reading it. Almost one year has passed – my birthday’s February 13th, and I still haven’t started it. Though, I definitely will… one day!


6. The Martian – Andy Weir

I wanted to watch the movie adaptation of The Martian, but decided I was going to read the novel first. Neither has happened. I own them both, but I haven’t watched the film yet nor picked up the book. Still, I want to follow through and read it first, but I’m not familiar with science fiction. I’ve only read The Illuminae Files, which is Young Adult and that was difficult enough!


7. The Secret History – Donna Tartt

A lot of people who love The Raven Cycle, are fans of The Secret History. I tried reading it during the summer of 2015, but the chapters were very long (like, over fifty pages!) and I wasn’t looking for that at the time. I still very much want to read this one, but perhaps whenever I have a lot of spare time.


8. Percy Jackson and the Olympians and Heroes of Olympus – Rick Riordan

The same can be said of Percy Jackson and the Olympians and Heroes of Olympus. I enjoyed Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief, but couldn’t get into the sequel because I was too busy at the time. Riordan’s books are action-driven and I need to finish those in as few sittings as possible. I have no idea when I’ll get to this series, but they will remain on my TBR!


9. Outlander series – Diana Gabaldon

I already own five books in the Outlander series and started the first book in June 2016. I’ve made very little progress and as much as I want to read the third book before the third season of Outlander starts, I know the chances of that happening are very slim. I really want to continue this series, though I keep prioritizing smaller books instead.


10. The Lunar Chronicles – Marissa Meyer

Before starting Cinder, I already knew from other readers that the series got better and better. Still, I thought the first instalment was okay, which doesn’t excite me to continue it. But, just like Outlander, Percy Jackson and The Mortal Instruments, I own the entire series already, so I can’t neglect it! Please make sure I continue this series soon!


What are some books or series you just had to have, but haven’t read (yet)? Let me know! Feel free to leave a link to your ‘Top 10 Tuesday’ post in the comments.

(scheduled on November 22th, 2016)


β˜† You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! β˜†

7 thoughts on “T10T: books I had to buy, but still have not read (3 January)

  1. rashthedoctor says:

    you needn’t worry about The Martian a lot , despite being Sci-fi the book explains all the science in it very well . And I do recommend reading the book before watching the movie

    Liked by 1 person

  2. brunettegirl27 says:

    I understand you when you talk about Outlander. I read the first ebook after S1 and it was exactly like the show. So I promised myself to read the second book before S2, but it never happened.
    And I just can’t forced myself to read another 800pages book where I know exactly what it is going to happen and start the 3rd book before S3. It won’t happen!

    Like

  3. Crystal Yasmine says:

    Oh my, there are so many books on that list that I absolutely LOVE!

    I just finished Carry On a few days ago and it was such a cute story! (but it also stood on my shelves for 6 months before I got to it, … I should have read it earlier!) Maybe you’ll enjoy it better when you pick it up someday again.. πŸ™‚

    As a huge Potterhead my body aches for the illustrated versions of the books. But I haven’t bought them yet (the second one just got out, didn’t it?). I definitely plan on reading to my children from those books in 10 or 20 years, so I still have some time πŸ˜›

    Fangirl is my favourite book by Rainbow Rowell and I’ve read them all. It’s really such a great story and I’m still swooning over Levi… Why do you feel like you don’t want to read it? Have you heard too many negative opinions on it or is it just not your genre anymore?

    I really love Cassandra Clare’s books and I’ve read them all (except the new short stories). But I know how you feel. It kind of gets on my nerves, too, that you have to read soooo many books! And there are even more to be released. But if you’d just want to read one series, I’d probably say you should definitely read The Infernal Devices trilogy, because those three books are without question my favourites in the entire shadowhunters world.

    I loved the movie The Martian (huge Matt Damon fan here) and I want to read the book, soon, too.

    okay, I have to tone it down a little because I’ve already spammed you with enough thoughts from me and if I start talking about the Percy Jackson books I might never stop… You should really read them (even better in one sitting :P) Just take two weeks of vacation from work or whatever you do and it’ll be totally worth it πŸ˜‰

    Again, sorry for replying in such long sentences, but I really liked your list! πŸ™‚
    Your new follower, Yasmine @ Swissbookworm

    Like

Leave a Reply

