2017 goals: Diversity Bingo, Book Hauls and more!

Top Five Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Thoughts on Tomes ! Visit the Goodreads group if you’re interested in joining! This week’s topic is:

January 4th: 2017 Goals
These do not need to be reading goals specifically, they can be any goals you want to talk about. Reading goals, blog/channel/instagram goals, personal goals…anything!

I was planning on doing this topic anyway, so this is great! Every year, I have some new plans (such as book buying bans) and I often fail miserably. This year, I am set to graduate and I will have to go job-hunting. So I have no idea what 2017 is going to bring and how that is going to affect my reading. That’s why my goals are going to be pretty safe and manageable. Anyway, let’s get started!


Goodreads Reading Challenge

reading_challenge

Last year, I lowered my reading challenge twice. I planned on reading 70 books, but only managed to read 50. Which is odd, since I read more in 2015 though I only started reading often that summer.

Because I don’t want to set myself up for another disaster, I plan on reading 52 books in 2017. That’s one book a week and though I know I won’t be able to do that (because I plan on reading big books such as A Dance with Dragons as well), I hope to read more during the summer than in 2016.


Diversity Bingo 2017

As I have mentioned a few times before, I want to read more diverse books. I already tried in 2016, but I especially need to do more effort to pick up own voices. So, I thought it might be a good idea to join Diversity Bingo 2017, which was created by a bunch of awesome people on Twitter (who you should definitely follow!).

I already know, however, that I will never be able to complete the entire square. Thirty-six books is a lot! I also plan on re-reading the entire Harry Potter series and The Raven Cycle again and have other books on my TBR which don’t feature diversity. And that is very unfortunate. But I simply can’t afford to not read the books I already have on my shelves and get tons of new ones. However, I’m not talking about books that include harmful rep though, such as Carve the Mark or The Continent. I will never read those. I will continue to use my voice to aim for more diversity and hope it becomes the norm, even when I don’t read diverse books all the time.

Having said that, instead of reading 36 books in order to succeed in Diversity Bingo 2017, I plan on buying those books instead and I will read them whenever I want to. Just because I don’t read them in 2017, doesn’t mean I don’t want to support those authors.

Another reason why I won’t pressure myself too much, is because I am a mood reader. The majority of those books are contemporaries and I’m not the biggest fan of that genre anymore. I’m not saying there isn’t any diversity in other genres, but of the research I’ve done so far, the majority were contemporaries.

Anyway, I hope this doesn’t sound as if I am coming up with excuses not to do Diversity Bingo 2017. I really want to join and I urge you to check it out as well. I just know that whenever I feel pressured to read something (even when it’s a book I’m excited for!), I tend to enjoy it less. I can’t really explain it, but it’s the reason why I couldn’t enjoy mandatory reads in college either.

Yikes, I hate how I sound right now. All I want to say is that I am going to do Diversity Bingo, but I know I won’t be able to complete the entire challenge, due to the books I already have on my shelves which lack diversity.

P.S. I have zero spare time at the moment due to my exams, so I haven’t been able to do much research yet to decide which books I’m getting for Diversity Bingo 😦


Book Hauls

As I’ve already mentioned, I’m graduating this year. I’m currently living at home, but when I have a job, I’d like to move out on my own. Therefore, I think it might be wise to keep track of my spendings, more specifically the amount of money I spend on books.

In the past, I’ve tried to limit my book hauls plenty of times. I tried ‘read one, buy one’ and ‘only x amount of books a month’ but that hasn’t worked for me.

So I need a new system to limit my spendings. If you have any recommendations, please let me know!

Though I’ll try to keep track of the money I spend on books and merchandise each month, I doubt I’ll be able to do that for a long time. I can already predict it is going to be through the roof and I am going to give up on it because it is too depressing. Still, I want to try.


2017 TBR

I never post TBRs. I’m a mood reader, so I never know what I am going to read next. I’m not going to post a list of the books I want to read in 2017 either. Sure, there are plenty of books I plan on reading, but who knows whether I will actually get to them.


WordPress

I created this blog in July 2016 and I plan on doing it for a very long time! I really enjoy expressing my opinions this way (and feel much more comfortable doing this than Booktube). I will continue to post regularly – you can have a look at my posting schedule here – and if you have any feedback for me, that is always welcome!

So please, if there are posts you’d like to see more or less of, or you have any other kind of feedback, don’t be afraid to share it with me 😀


☆ You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! ☆

10 thoughts on “2017 goals: Diversity Bingo, Book Hauls and more!

  1. ashley says:

    Good luck with your goals! I too want to read more diverse books as well. I love that you have a blogging schedule posted on your blog, it lets readers know what to expect and when to expect it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews says:

    Brilliant goals!! I’m participating in Diversity Bingo too, but I also don’t think I’ll be able to complete all squares. I think the most important thing though is that we’re making conscious efforts to diversify our reading!

    Good luck with everything ☺

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Streed's Reads says:

    This is a great post! I do have one suggestion for limiting your book haul spending: limit purchases to topic-specific or theme-centric books. Last fall I did a major book haul. Almost every book was non-fiction, biography/memoir, and primarily with basis or tie-ins to the Middle East. A few were outside of the region, but there was a secondardy tie-in of some sort. Last week, I opted to continue to read with a focus on books (and films) with tie-ins to the Middle East, Russia/Soviet Union, and the “Stans” countries, but I modified my purchase strategy to limit myself to Iran-centric books, with an occasional Russia or “Stans” piece. This focus has already provided value to me on many levels. Best of luck to you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

