Searching Saturday: Resolution Fulfillers (7 January)

Searching Saturday was created by The Night is Dark and Full of Books and you can have a look at the topics here. Its goal is to discover new books every week! This week’s topic is:

7th: Resolution Fulfillers
It’s the beginning of a new year, which can only mean one thing, new year’s resolutions! I’m pretty sure we’ll all have some bookish resolutions, like “read more standalones” or “stop caring about books having a low rating on Goodreads”. This is your chance to take action right after making these resolutions. Search for books that fulfill your new year’s resolution, whatever it may be.

Each week, I discuss one book that I added to my TBR thanks to the Searching Saturday topic.


Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall

january_resolution-fulfillers
Synopsis

Norah has agoraphobia and OCD. When groceries are left on the porch, she can’t step out to get them. Struggling to snag the bags with a stick, she meets Luke. He’s sweet and funny, and he just caught her fishing for groceries. Because of course he did.

Norah can’t leave the house, but can she let someone in? As their friendship grows deeper, Norah realizes Luke deserves a normal girl. One who can lie on the front lawn and look up at the stars. One who isn’t so screwed up.

How did I find the book?

I went through The Bookavid’s list of 2016 and 2017 releases by disabled authors and spotted this beautiful cover!

Why did I add it to my TBR?

One of my 2017 resolutions is to read more own voices. In 2016, I already did an effort to read more diverse books, but often, those were written by white cisgender heterosexual authors. I also want to diversify the authors I read (and naturally their diverse stories are going to more accurate) and reading own voices is the best way to do that.

I added Under Rose-Tainted Skies to my TBR because the cover looks absolutely beautiful and this is an own voices story: the author, just like the main character, has agoraphobia. This was released on January 3rd, but had already received raving reviews from people who read ARCs.

The synopsis sounds a bit like Everything, Everything, but that book is actually ableist and I’d recommend reading books about disabilities by disabled authors instead.


☆ You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! ☆

2 thoughts on “Searching Saturday: Resolution Fulfillers (7 January)

Leave a Reply

