T10T: 2016 Releases I Meant To Read But Didn’t Get To (10 January)

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish and you can have a look at the future topics here! This week’s topic is:

January 10: Top Ten 2016 Releases I Meant To Read But Didn’t Get To (But TOTALLY plan to)

As usual, these are in no particular order:

January_10x.png

 


Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

Even though this has received many mixed reviews, this is one of the 2016 releases I am looking forward to reading most. The main complaint was that is was boring, but as long as the world building and political intrigue is done right, I think I can manage that!


A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir

Before the release of A Torch Against the Night, I decided to re-read An Ember in the Ashes, because I had forgotten pretty much everything. That was back in August. I still haven’t started A Torch Against the Night and should pick it up soon before I forget everything that happened in the first instalment again! However, I recently found out the third instalment is being released in 2018 😮 


We Are the Ants by Shaun David Hutchinson

The only reason why I haven’t read We Are the Ants yet, is because I don’t own a copy. I really want to buy one, but it remains quite expensive. As soon as the price drops though, I’m getting it!


Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

I’ve talked about this a few times before: I started reading Gemina in November, but I did not enjoy it (at all!). I’ve read about 250 pages and am still debating whether or not I should finish it. It has received many raving reviews, so I guess I should. Not that I’m looking forward to it though… Still, I absolutely loved Illuminae, so it might get better.


Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

Happy birthday to Windwitch, the sequel to Truthwitch. Okay, you might think I’m crazy, but I actually pre-ordered Windwitch, even though I have not read (nor even own!) the first instalment yet. Still, I have heard this features an amazing female friendship, so I’m hoping I’ll end up loving it whenever I acquire a copy!


Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

Honestly, I don’t know much about Passenger, besides that it received a lot of praise when it was released. The sequel just came out, so I should probably start this series before I get spoiled.


The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner

Once again, I don’t really know what The Serpent King is about. It’s a contemporary which has a very high rating on Goodreads and I have the feeling it’s going to deal with serious topics (instead of a fluffy contemporary), so I think it might be my cup of tea. We’ll see!


The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid

Seriously, I need to stop buying books I know nothing about! The reason why I got The Diabolic, is because it is a standalone science-fiction and has received many positive reviews from my Goodreads friends. I don’t know whether sci-fi is my taste, but I’m dying to read more standalones. I plan on posting a list of series I have started, but don’t plan on finishing or still need to finish soon and then you will understand why I got this solely because it’s a standalone 😀

EDIT: the author has apparently decided to turn this into a trilogy… I am very disappointed and instantly less excited to read this. 


The Rose and the Dagger by by Renee Ahdieh

I read The Wrath and the Dawn back in 2015 and even though I quite enjoyed it, I still haven’t read the sequel in this duology. It’s a surprise I haven’t been spoiled yet! I definitely need to re-read the first one before I read this finale though.


The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan

Even though I’ve only read one book by Rick Riordan (Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief), I already own the majority of his books. I’m more excited to read his work that was released recently (such as The Sword of Summer), but I’ve been advised many times to read his series in order of publication.


This list proves perfectly that I am a mood reader! Even though I want to read all of these books, I need to be in the mood for them. Which 2016 releases did you mean to read, but didn’t get to? Oh, BTW, this list easily could’ve been ten books longer 😉

(scheduled on 24 December 2016)

☆ You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! ☆

10 thoughts on “T10T: 2016 Releases I Meant To Read But Didn’t Get To (10 January)

  1. FishThatReads says:

    I got into wanting Three Dark Crowns ever since it was in the owlcrate. Passenger is really fun, but boring for long bit with nothing happening, but still great world building. I have a review written up, I’ll try posting it in the next few day for you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

