Searching Saturday: 2017 release (14 January)

Searching Saturday was created by The Night is Dark and Full of Books and you can have a look at the topics here. Its goal is to discover new books every week! This week’s topic is:

14th: 2017 Releases
It’s always exciting to take a look at all the new books that will be released this year. Most of us have probably already done some research. But have you seen all of them? Probably not. Search for books that will be released somewhere in 2017.

Each week, I discuss one book that I added to my TBR thanks to the Searching Saturday topic.


We Are Okay by Nina LaCour

january_2017-releases

Synopsis

“You go through life thinking there’s so much you need. . . . Until you leave with only your phone, your wallet, and a picture of your mother.”

Marin hasn’t spoken to anyone from her old life since the day she left everything behind. No one knows the truth about those final weeks. Not even her best friend Mabel. But even thousands of miles away from the California coast, at college in New York, Marin still feels the pull of the life and tragedy she’s tried to outrun. Now, months later, alone in an emptied dorm for winter break, Marin waits. Mabel is coming to visit and Marin will be forced to face everything that’s been left unsaid and finally confront the loneliness that has made a home in her heart.

How did I find this book?

As I’ve mentioned a few times before, I want to read more diverse books. Therefore, I started following a bunch of people who support diverse literature on Twitter. One day, I spotted We Are Okay by Nina LaCour on my feed.

Why did I add it to my TBR?

One of Lacour’s other novels, Everything Leads to You, has received a lot of praise. I own it, but haven’t had the chance to read it yet. Anyway, I hope We Are Okay is also going to feature queer girls 🙂 Either way, the ARC has already received raving reviews!

This book is going to be released on Valentine’s Day!


☆ You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! ☆

One thought on “Searching Saturday: 2017 release (14 January)

Leave a Reply

