T10T: series I started, but won’t or want to finish (17 January)

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish and you can have a look at the future topics here! This week’s topic is:

January 17:  Ten Underrated/Hidden Gem Books I’ve Read In The Past Year Or So (up to you if you want it to be those published in the past year or so or just ANY underrated book you’ve read recently)

However, because I mostly read hyped books, I’ll be talking about series I started reading and (don’t) plan on finishing instead! 

This year I do want to read more diversely, including more own voices. Unfortunately, the majority of the books that received hype primarily feature white cishet characters and are written by white cishet authors. And that’s why I plan on reading more hidden gems in 2017.

I’m only going to talk about series that have multiple instalments out, but I haven’t read all of them (yet). I’m not going to talk about all the series I have ever started, but five per category. Beware: there might be some unpopular opinions later on!


Series I started reading and want to finish

January_17_want to finish_x.png
The Winner’s Trilogy

I read The Winner’s Curse in April 2016 and enjoyed it much more than I had expected to. I immediately ordered the order books in the series, but because those took a while to arrive, I started reading other books instead. In the meantime, I’ve completely forgotten what happened in The Winner’s Curse, so I definitely need to re-read that before I continue this series.


The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

I’ve only read Cinder and thought it was okay. Even though I know the series gets better, it’s holding me back from continuing it. Still, I already bought the entire series and I do believe the fans, so the rest of this series is on my 2017 TBR. I read Cinder in August though, so I hope I haven’t forgotten everything by then!


Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan

As I mentioned last week, I’m very interested in reading Riordan’s books, especially the ones that were released recently. I picked up The Sea of Monsters months ago, but didn’t finish it because I wasn’t in the mood for it. Even though I know it’s my fault that I didn’t enjoy it, I don’t see myself picking it up again anytime soon. Though I really should because I know Riordan’s work only gets better!


Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

I love the TV show adaptation of Outlander. Claire is one of my favourite characters ever! I already own 4 books in the series, though I’ve only read about 100 pages of Outlander and that was back in July! The only reason why I haven’t continued this yet, is because I feel a lot of pressure to read shorter books (in order to review them or achieve my reading  challenge).


An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

I mentioned this series last week as well. I re-read An Ember in the Ashes in August before A Torch Against the Night was released, yet I still haven’t picked that one up! I do really want to, preferable before I forget what happened in the first instalment again.


Series I started reading, but won’t finish

January_17_will not finish_x.png

The Maze Runner by James Dashner

My sister love this series, but the only reason why I’d continue it, is to please her. I read The Maze Runner back in 2015 and the many differences with the film adaptation bothered me to no end. That’s not the book’s fault, but I did find it very annoying. Honestly, I really don’t care to find out what’s going to happen next.


The Young Elites by Marie Lu

The Young Elites was the first book I read in 2016 and I unfortunately did not enjoy it. Last year, I realised I don’t enjoy reading about unlikeable protagonists and Adelina is definitely an anti-hero. Furthermore, the novel lacked world-building and the romance was cringe-worthy.


Throne of Glass and A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

If you’ve been following me for a while, you know why I don’t plan on continuing either of Maas’ series. Honestly, I never want to read another book written by her. The only exception would be her retelling of Catwoman, but that’s only because I’m a DC fan. Still, I’d wait to find out what other people think about it before I pick it up myself.

Anyway, I read ACOTAR, Throne of Glass and The Assassin’s Blade and though I quite liked them, recent developments in her books (and her silence when it comes to diversity and some of her fans who bully people who don’t like her books) convinced me to not continue both series.


The Falling Kingdoms series by Morgan Rhodes

I’ve also explained plenty of times why I won’t continue the Falling Kingdoms series. Though I liked the first instalment, I DNF’d the second one at 75 percent! I just could not deal with the characters anymore! I found them very annoying and was not a fan of the romance.


The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

I probably own about ten books written by Cassandra Clare and I don’t want to read any of them. The only one I managed to finish was City of Bones and I gave up on City of Ashes halfway. There’s definitely a pattern here: this is another series I won’t continue because I find the protagonist unlikeable. I’ll stick to the TV show adaptation from now on. At least they don’t feel the need to make girls hate each other for no apparent reason.


Honestly, it was quite hard to to only mention five series in each category. Apparently, I struggle finishing them, even though I read more series than standalones πŸ˜… Which series did you start, but don’t want to finish? Let me know!

(scheduled on 24 December 2016)

β˜† You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! β˜†

7 thoughts on “T10T: series I started, but won’t or want to finish (17 January)

  1. Isabelle Hernandez says:

    Cinder is definitely the weakest of the books and I was also hesitant to pick up the next but by the end of Scarlet I was addicted to the plot. The Winner’s trilogy – book 2 is SOOO tension filled and that ending nearly killed me I was so happy I had book 3 at the ready.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ashley says:

    I haven’t even started An Ember in the Ashes yet, ACOTAR or any of Cassandra Clare’s books. They’ve been on my TBR for so long! I am hoping to read An Ember in the Ashes for DiverseAThon, although the narrative format could prove to be problematic for me.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. thesassygeek says:

    I agree with a lot of these! I haven’t read past Cinder in the Lunar Chronicles yet and I do own Scarlet, I’ve heard the same things from people that the series gets better since I didn’t enjoy Cinder very much either that’s promising. I’m hoping to continue it eventually.
    I’m sorry to hear you didn’t like The Young Elites, I have a copy of that too and I wasn’t too impressed with Lu’s other book Legend. I think I’ll lower my expectations for that one now after hearing your complaints with it.
    I’m on the edge with contiinuing the Throne of Glass series myself since I didn’t really like the book and I definitely agree that some of her fans bully people who don’t like her books, I was honestly a little scared to post my opinion on the first book because it wasn’t 5 stars.
    Great, great list too! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

