T5W: Books I Read in One Sitting (18 January)

Top Five Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Thoughts on Tomes ! Visit the Goodreads group if you’re interested in joining! Today’s topic is:

January 18th: Favorite Polarizing Books
These are books that people either tend to love or hate, with no in between. Pick some of your favorites that fall into this category.

However, I decided not to do this week’s topic because I tend not to love a lot of those polarizing books. The only one I could think of that I enjoyed was the Captive Prince trilogy, but I completely understand why people hate it and have problems with it myself, so I didn’t think it would be interesting if I were to talk about that.

Instead, I am going to talk about books I read in one sitting (or close to). This was the topic on 17 June 2015, when I wasn’t a member yet.

I only manage to read books in one sitting when I have a lot of spare time, which is primarily in the summer. Unfortunately, that doesn’t happen often, so I don’t finish books in one sitting regularly. I’m not going to include any books that are very short (such as We Should All Be Feminists) which I therefore finished quickly.

These are in no particular order:

_books I read in one sitting_x.png

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

The first time I read Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe, I stayed up all night reading it! Since, I have re-read it and I unfortunately didn’t enjoy it as much as the first time. For some reason, the writing style bothered me very much, while I never noticed it before.


The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski

I’ve mentioned this a few times before: I read The Winner’s Curse at home while recovering from a surgery. I was on a lot of pain medication back then, so I don’t remember anything that happened in the book! I definitely need to re-read this before I continue the series.


None of the Above by I.W. Gregorio

I recently ordered a physical copy of None of the Above because I’ve been meaning to re-read it. I read it in 2015 and I absolutely love that it’s written by a doctor: the main character is intersex and that way, you know that all the information is correct.


Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

I originally read Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda in 2015 and really enjoyed it. Last summer I re-read it and though it took me longer to read (since I’m much busier now), I enjoyed it even more the second time around!


Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

Ugh, I cringe while reading my review of Ugly Love: I constantly praise Hoover, whereas I’m really not a fan of her anymore. This is another book I read in 2015 and it was my first (and last) Colleen Hoover book. I absolutely loved it, but my taste has changed since then. I’m afraid that if I were to re-read it now, I wouldn’t enjoy it anymore.


bonus: Captive Prince trilogy

It only took me three days to read the Captive Prince trilogy. While I completely understand the critique is has received, I did really enjoy the second book in the series.


Apparently, I (want to) re-read every book on this list! Clearly, reading books in one sitting might not be the best way to read for me, since I tend to forget everything that happened 😀 Which books did you read in one sitting?

(scheduled on 24 December 2016)


☆ You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! ☆

4 thoughts on “T5W: Books I Read in One Sitting (18 January)

  1. ashley says:

    I have Ari and Dante on my TBR! It’s one of my DiverseAThon backup books in case I can’t get through Ember in the Ashes or Passenger due to the narrative and time travel formats.

    Like

Leave a Reply

