T5W: series I’d like to start in 2017 (25 January)

Top Five Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Thoughts on Tomes ! Visit the Goodreads group if you’re interested in joining! This week’s topic is:

January 25th: Favorite Underrated Books
–Give some love to those books that aren’t as widely talked about. Those hidden gems. Those books that maybe used to be popular but people have forgotten about and they still deserve some love.

Once again though, I will not do this week’s topic but do another one instead. As I have mentioned a few times before, most of the books I read are hyped. I prefer to get physical copies and want to make sure enough people enjoyed the book before I buy it. This year, however, I want to read more books featuring diversity and more own voices, so I will pick up underrated books more often.

Anyway, instead I am going to talk about the series I’d like to start in 2017. I kind of have a book buying problem and there are many series on my shelves I still haven’t started yet. To prevent this list from becoming endlessly, I will only talk about series that have multiple instalments out already (so no recent releases). Furthermore, I’m not going to include any series I already started, but still need to continue. I already talked about those last week.


As usual, these are in no particular order:

january_series I'd like to start in 2017_x.png

The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon

Honestly, I was never that interested in this series. But that’s probably because it hasn’t been on my radar yet; not a lot of readers talk about it. When I found out the series went through a cover change though, I instantly became more interested. I really need to find out whether it’s worth buying the special edition of the third instalment (which matches the editions I already own).


The School for Good and Evil by by Soman Chainani

Last year, I got the entire trilogy for my birthday. Back then, quite a few Booktubers were reading it, so it caught my attention. I can’t believe I still haven’t started this!


Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo

I started reading Shadow and Bone in September 2015, but wasn’t in the mood for it and therefore didn’t finish the book. I’m a fan of the Six of Crows duology, so I want to give this trilogy another chance. I know it’s not as good as Bardugo’s newest books and I’m aware that many readers are unhappy with the ending (which I’ve been spoiled for) but I still want to read it in order to understand the Grishaverse even better.


The Witchlands by by Susan Dennard

I pre-ordered Windwitch before I had even read or bought Truthwitch. So I really ought to buy the first instalment ASAP so I can justify why I buy books in a series without even owning the first one… I know, I have problems!


Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

Honestly, I don’t know much about this series, but a lot of people seem to love it.


Red Rising by Pierce Brown

Many people compare the Red Rising trilogy to The Hunger Games, which I find very interesting! I rarely read books written by male authors or about male main characters, so I’m kind of wary. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not as if I intentionally avoid them, but I’m afraid it’s going to be filled with misoginy, which is something I cannot stand.


To be honest, there are many other series I’ve yet to read. Which series do you want to start this year?

(scheduled 30 December 2016)


☆ You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! ☆

3 thoughts on “T5W: series I’d like to start in 2017 (25 January)

Leave a Reply

