Burn, Rewrite, Reread book tag

The final book tag of January is going to be the Burn, Rewrite, Reread one! I was tagged by the wonderful Heather (@ The Sassy Book Geek) and I am so excited to do this! Thank you for tagging me, Heather!

I chose eighteen books I have read and reviewed and wrote the titles on pieces of paper. Some books I loved, some I unfortunately didn’t.


Rules:

  • Randomly choose 3 slips of paper.
  • For each group, decide which book to burn, which one to rewrite, and which to reread.
  • Repeat until you completed three rounds (or six).

Round 1

round1x

BURN: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by Jack Thorne (review)

Well, that was easy. I absolutely hated Harry Potter and the Cursed Child and wish it didn’t even exist.

RE-WRITE: An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir (review)

This is a tough one. I have re-read both An Ember in the Ashes and Prisoner of Azkaban and J.K. Rowling is a problematic author, so there is much more I could re-write. I don’t know what I would re-write in this book, but I love Prisoner of Azkaban more.

RE-READ: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (review)

Like I just said, there’s more I could re-write in Prisoner of Azkaban, but it is nonetheless one of my favourite books of all time!


Round 2

round2x

This round is very easy!

BURN: Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi (review)

Actually, I wouldn’t recommend reading my review, because I loved this book when I read it. Unfortunately, the other books in this trilogy didn’t live up to my exceptions. Looking back on Shatter Me, I can’t even remember what I liked about it in the first place.

RE-WRITE: The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater (review)

The Raven Cycle is one of my favourite series. I love it and constantly re-read it. Still, if there was one I could re-write, it’s definitely The Raven King. Throughout the entire series, there is tons of foreshadowing, yet the ending didn’t deliver.

RE-READ: Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys (review)

Salt to the Sea was a life-changing novel. I definitely plan on re-reading it. Though, if I had to re-write it, I would maybe leave out Alfred’s chapters.


Round 3

round3x

Oh boy, this round won’t be easy! All of these were average (3 to 3.5 stars).

BURN: City of Bones by Cassandra Clare (review)

I DNF’ed both The Mortal Instruments and Red Queen series, so I’m having a hard time choosing which one I’d burn. I’m indifferent when it comes to Red Queen, whereas there are a lot of things I didn’t like in City of Bones (like Clary disliking Izzy for no reason besides her being another girl.) I probably own ten books written by Clare and never plan on reading them.

RE-WRITE: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard (review)

If Red Queen had been more original and therefore less predictable, I would’ve enjoyed it more. I won’t continue this series because I honestly don’t care about it anymore, but it still has some aspects that seemed promising.

RE-READ: The Foxhole Court by Nora Sakavic (review)

My expectations before starting The Foxhole Court were high. Everyone on Tumblr seemed to love it, but I was disappointed. Still, I liked the characters, especially the girls!


Round 4

round4xBURN: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas (review)

Unpopular opinion time: I rated ACOTAR four stars, yet I’d burn it instead of The Young Elites, which I only rated two. Since reading some of Maas’ books, I’ve become more educated and I don’t ever plan on reading any more of her books. Besides her Catwoman retelling, maybe, but that would only be because I’m a DC fan. I have a lot of issues with Maas (e.g. all her main characters are white and straight), and I wish more people realised how problematic she is.

RE-WRITE: The Young Elites by Marie Lu (review)

There are multiple reasons why disliked The Young Elites, such as the world-building (or lack thereof) and romance. Yet, I think if I were to make it less trope-y, I’d enjoy it much more.

RE-READ: The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater (review)

The Dream Thieves is possibly my favourite book of all time. It certainly is my favourite in the series! Just thinking about it, makes me want to re-read it again!


Round 5

round5x

This is definitely the most difficult one so far! I have no idea which one I want to re-write and which one to burn…

BURN: A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness (review)

Why do I continue making myself so unpopular? Anyway, I gave A Monster Calls three stars. Honestly, I think I didn’t understand some of the metaphors, because I didn’t get emotional, unlike other readers. Furthermore, I’ve already read three books by Ness and thought all were average.

RE-WRITE: Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover (review)

I absolutely loved Ugly Love: I cried my eyes out and gave it five stars. Since, however, my opinions on romance novels and Colleen Hoover have completely changed. Now, I realise that the relationships in her books are very problematic. Therefore, I would want to re-write them!

Still, I was thinking about burning this one instead of A Monsters Calls, because I don’t ever want to read a book by Hoover again.

RE-READ: Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo (review)

I received Crooked Kingdom a few days before the release date, so I rushed myself to read it as soon as possible, because I didn’t want to get spoiled. But, by doing so, I didn’t appreciate the novel enough. I will probably always find the ending disappointing, but do want to re-read it and find out whether I was too harsh (don’t get me wrong, I gave it four stars, but months later, I still feel disappointed).


Round 6

round6x
BURN: Me, Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews (review)

Again, I wouldn’t actually recommend reading my review, because I don’t understand how I rated it three stars. I can’t remember a single thing I liked about this novel. The humor was so vulgar and I just don’t enjoy reading about white straight boys who fantasize over every girl they meet.

RE-WRITE: Aristotle and Dante discover the Secrets of the Universe (review)

Well, to re-write this novel would be offensive, since it’s own voices. However, I generally don’t care about authors’ writing styles. But upon re-reading Aristotle and Dante, I really didn’t like the writing style, so I would change that.

RE-READ: And I Darken by Kiersten White (review)

Actually, I wrote in my review of And I Darken that I didn’t want to re-read it before the sequel comes out, because it was so slow. Since finishing it though, my feelings have become more positive. I really liked the setting and want to read more novels like it! Still, there are some things I’d like to re-write as well: we rarely witness any of the action. Instead, the author just tells us that their plans succeeded, instead of showing us!


This tag was a lot of fun to do! And very difficult as well! If you want to do this, consider yourself tagged by me β™₯ (scheduled on 15 December 2016)


β˜† You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! β˜†

 

2 thoughts on “Burn, Rewrite, Reread book tag

Leave a Reply

