Top 10 Tuesday: all about the visuals (31 January)

Happy Tuesday, everybody! Last week, I didn’t upload a ‘Top 10 Tuesday’ post because I was too busy studying and didn’t have one scheduled. But I’m back this week! Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish and you can have a look at the future topics here! This week’s topic is:

January 31: All about the visuals: Top Ten Favorite Graphic Novels/Comics or Ten Comics on My TBR or Top Ten Favorite Picture Books

I am going to talk about typography on book covers! This isn’t a list of my all time favourites, but some I really love!

As usual, these are in no particular order:

January_31_typography_x.png


This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

Since I didn’t enjoy Vicious by V.E. Schwab (I couldn’t even finish it), I’m not planning on reading more of her books anytime soon. But I cannot deny the typography of This Savage Song is absolutely stunning.

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo (review)

The hardcovers of the Six of Crows duology are gorgeous! The edges are unique and the covers look gorgeous as well! The series itself is very great and diverse, so I’d suggest reading it if you haven’t yet!

Starfish by Akemi Dawn Bowman

Starfish is going to be released in September 2017. I’m pretty sure I added it to my TBR because it features diversity (it is also written by a woman of colour), but the cover is reason enough to buy it, isn’t it?

Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst

Unfortunately, Of Fire and Stars as received mainly negative reviews. I really want to read this book because it apparently features a F/F romance and is a fantasy, but I don’t want to be disappointed. Still, I really like the cover and how simple it is.

Meg & Linus by Hanna Nowinski

This novel is going to be released in April and features queer characters! The blurb says they are fans of Star Trek, so I’m unsure whether I should pick this up, since I wouldn’t understand any of the references, because I’ve never seen Star Trek… Please don’t kill me!

To All the Boys I Loved Before by Jenny Han (review)

I have already read To All the Boys I Loved Before and I won’t continue this series. It was too fluffy and juvenile for my taste. Having said that, I still like the typography!

Burial Rites by Hannah Kent

Honestly, I can’t remember why exactly I added Burial Rites to my TBR anymore. But it’s historical fiction and has received raving reviews, so it sounds like my cup of tea! Unfortunately, this cover isn’t available anymore and the new one doesn’t look nearly as good as this one 😦

A Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard

As I have mentioned many times already, I am not the biggest fan of contemporaries. But I cannot deny that those are often more diverse than other genres and therefore, I keep adding them to my TBR. Steffi, the main character, is a selective mute and a new boy at her school named Rhys is deaf. As far as I know, it is not own voices, so I hope the representation is accurate (not that I could know, since I’m not deaf nor mute). So far though, I haven’t seen anyone mention that the representation is inaccurate, so I plan on buying this soon because it sounds incredibly cute (even though that isn’t what I’d normally pick up).

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire SΓ‘enz (review)

Even though I didn’t enjoy Aristotle and Dante as much anymore reading it for a second time, I still want to read the sequel There Will be Other Summers.

Under Rose-Tained Skies by Louise Gornall

I cannot wait to get my hands on a hardcover edition of Under Rose-Tained Skies! I absolutely love that cover and it is an own voices story about a girl who is agoraphobic.


Are you interested in reading any of these novels? Most of them are being released in 2017! What books feature some of your favourite typography?

β˜† You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! β˜†

 

3 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday: all about the visuals (31 January)

  1. ashley says:

    I wish I could read Six of Crows, but I can’t because of the narrative format. I love the font on the Harry Potter books, and the font on the Hobbit and Lord of the Rings. I need to start paying more attention to the typography on books, because some of it is truly stunning.

    Like

Leave a Reply

