book covers: make me choose #2

Happy Sunday, everyone! Today, I am back with another ‘book covers: make me choose’ post 😀 I did this back in October already, but my sister asked me to do it again!

I’m going to have a look at covers from nine different books and choose which one I like best!


1. Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

truthwitch_x

Honestly, I’m not a fan of either. Even though Truthwitch was only released last year, the cover looks easily ten years older. Still, the US cover (the one on the left) looks much better than the UK one!

winner: The US edition (on the left)!

2. Heartless by Marissa Meyer

heartless_x.png

No offence, but that cover in the middle is one of the ugliest covers I have ever seen. I dislike real people on covers; it makes it look so cheap. I definitely prefer the other two, as I am a fan of minimalistic art. While the white one on the right has a certain appeal, I love the black cover the most. Has anyone seen the cover exclusive for Owlcrate? It’s the one on the left, but in white. That one is even more beautiful!

winner: cover on the left!

3. Three Dark Crowns

three dark crowns.png

The cover on the left is the hardcover. The others are paperbacks and represent one of the main characters. Since I didn’t know which sister I was going to like best, I went for the safest option and got the one with the three crowns. I don’t mind though; I love how simple it is! I think I like the green cover best from the other three.

winner: the hardcover edition (on the left)!

4. The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard)

sword_of_summer_x.png

The cover on the right (by Disney Hyperion) is hands down so much better than the one by Puffin. Unfortunately, it was also more expensive, but it was worth it. It’s probably one of the most beautiful covers on my shelves.

winner: Disney Hyperion (on the right)!

5. Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys

between shades of gray_x.png

This book has over three covers, yet somehow, all of them look awful! After reading (and absolutely loving) Salt to the Sea by Sepetys, I had to have Between Shades of Gray right away. Though I had a hard time deciding which edition I’d buy. My mother and sister preferred the one in the middle, but I ended up getting the one on the left. I don’t really like that one either, but I guess more than the other two.

winner: Penguin (on the left)!

6. A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

darker shade of magic_x.png

Both these covers are so pretty: I love the combination of red, black and white(-ish). My sister and I bought the paperback edition (on the right), but I’d rather have the hardcover, because it looks even more beautiful! Damn, I can’t stop staring at it, it’s so gorgeous! The one on the right is too, but pales in comparison to the other one.

winner: hardcover (on the left)!

7. The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

the hate u give_x.png

This is one of my most anticipated releases of 2017! I love that there’s a black woman on both covers; that doesn’t happen nearly as much as it should! Sadly, I’m not a fan of real people on covers, so I’m definitely getting the one on the right.

Still, I don’t know who is in charge of covers (I know it’s not the author), but people of colour need to be included in more books, but also on more covers as well!

winner: the one on the right!

8. History is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera

history is all you left me_x.png

2017 is definitely going to be the year where I read all of Silvera’s books! Unfortunately, I’m not the biggest fan of his covers, but that’s not going to stop me from buying them.

My high school’s colours were blue and yellow and it was the most awful combination. I always felt embarrassed when we had gym class outside. Maybe that’s why I’m not a fan of these covers. But I quite like the one on the right! I’m not loving the horizontal lines and transition of colour of the US edition (on the left). Though I’ll probably get that one because it’s a hardcover.

winner: UK edition (on the right)!

9. Ash by Malinda Lo

ash_x.png

For months, I thought those were hairs on the cover on the right, but I realise now it might be grass! Well, this is awkward, that was actually one of the reasons I bought the edition on the left. Still, I like that one more, because it looks much more like a fairytale. The one on the right looks much darker and sadder, which I hope won’t be the case since this is a F/F romance and won’t be able to handle a unhappy ending 😮

winner: the one on the left!

Do you agree with my choices? 🙂 I might do another one of these in a couple of months, so stay tuned! (scheduled on 18 December 2016)


☆ You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! ☆

3 thoughts on “book covers: make me choose #2

  1. Swetlana says:

    The Owlcrate exclusive cover for Heartless is SO beautiful! I am almost sad I couldn’t get my hands on it – though I do also really love the black & red one! The VE Schwab covers for A Darker Shade Of Magic and the other books are so pretty in both the US and UK edition, but I have to give it to the US ones for that one!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

