Searching Saturdays: Abandoned Genres (18 February)

Searching Saturday was created by The Night is Dark and Full of Books and you can have a look at the topics here. Its goal is to discover new books every week! This week’s topic is:

18th: Abandoned Genres
Oh those poor abandoned genres, so sad. We should give them some love. Search for books within a genre you usually don’t reach for. Challenge yourself to find something you are actually interesting.

Each week, I discuss one book that I added to my TBR thanks to the Searching Saturday topic.


salt. by Nayyirah Waheed

synopsis

Salt is a journey through warmth and sharpness. This collection of poetry explores the realities of multiple identities, language, diasporic life & pain, the self, community, healing, celebration, and love.

How did I find it?

Recently, more and more people have been reading this. I think I heard about it first in one of Riley Marie’s videos, who is one of my favourite BookTubers!

Why did I add it TBR?

I don’t read poetry. Ever. So this definitely qualifies for this week’s topic. Lately, poetry has been receiving more and more praise in the book community, thanks to poetry collections such as The Princess Saves Herself in this One and Milk and Honey. Even though I never thought of picking up poetries before, I am interested to find out what the hype is about. Especially since all the titles I mentioned, are about feminism.

Salt. and Milk and Honey are written by authors of colour. The latter, however, apparently romanticises rape, so be careful with that. Since I haven’t read any of these poetry collections myself, I can’t provide further warnings.


☆ You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! ☆

 

Leave a Reply

