A Feast for Crows (A Song of Ice and Fire, #4)

a_feast_for_crows.pngA Feast for Crows (A Song of Ice and Fire, #4)

by George R.R. Martin

read from August 2016 to February 2017

format: mass paperback

spoiler-free review


Words are like arrows, Arianne. Once loosed, you cannot call them back.

I started A Feast For Crows back in August, but hadn’t picked it up in months! Which is entirely my fault, since I always think I can read these books while reading others as well. Unfortunately, that doesn’t work for me. Ten days ago, I decided I had to finish this book and I absolutely devoured those final 600 pages I didn’t get to last summer.

A Feast For Crows is quite different from its predecessors. This one focusses on the Lannisters in King’s Landing, the Martells, Sansa and Arya Stark, Brienne, the Greyjoys and Samwell. I absolutely loved that Martin decided to focus on particular story-lines instead of giving us bits and pieces every arc in the series.

But because I got so used to these characters, I’m afraid I am going to miss them! Hopefully, the next book does not only focus on Tyrion, Jon and Dany, but on other characters as well. Knowing myself, I’ll probably start A Dance With Dragons right away, because once I am invested in these books, I can’t stop thinking about them. Though I really shouldn’t, because I don’t want to fall behind on my reading challenge!

I was so happy that we finally got chapters from Cersei’s point-of-view. In the books, she is much more brutal than in the TV show adaptation, but I love her nonetheless. I’m already dreading reading about Tyrion in the following books, because I absolutely loathe him. I hope Cersei will remain a protagonist as well. And I also enjoyed the Jaime we got to see in A Feast For Crows. I love the theory that he is the valonqar and I can definitely see it happen in the books.

We are also introduced to Dorne and the Martells. I absolutely loved Arianne and I -once again- hope this wasn’t the end of her story-line. Their story is so much better in the books than in the adaptation; trust me!

Multiple point-of-views don’t work for everybody. I admit that I struggled with the chapters about the Greyjoys, because they are such vile and sexist men. Except for Asha Greyjoy of course! I adore and admire her and wish more chapters focussed on her instead of her uncles. Still, I think Martin writes multiple point-of-views perfectly. Each protagonist has a very distinguished voice. I love that you could tell when a chapter was from Arya’s POV, because you really get the feeling as if you are listening to a child, which she is, though you might forget because of all the horror she has witnessed.

We are so blessed that George R. R. Martin is able to write all these bad-ass female characters! In my opinion, they are so much better than the men and I absolutely love that!

Unfortunately, I don’t remember much about the first three hundred pages of A Feast For Crows because I read those so many months ago. At least I’ve learned that I should binge-read this series instead of reading other books on the side. Yes, it’s intimidating to devote all your time to these big books, but in my opinion, you’ll enjoy them much more that way!

conclusion: I absolutely loved reading A Feast For Crows and I cannot wait to pick up the next book in this series. Hopefully, it won’t take a long time before The Winds of Winter is released! Even if you have seen the TV show adaptation, I would absolutely recommend reading the books. They’re much more in-depth and still surprising, because the TV show doesn’t always stay true to the source.


☆ You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! ☆

2 thoughts on “A Feast for Crows (A Song of Ice and Fire, #4)

  1. ashley says:

    I tried reading the first book but the multiple POV’s gave me so many problems. The most I can handle is two, and even sometimes two is difficult depending on how well they’re written.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

