February (and birthday) 2017 book haul!

Hello everyone! I got so many more books in February than last month! It was my birthday on the thirteenth, so some books were gifts and others I bought with the money I received! I’m very proud that I’ve already read some of the books I’m going to mention below.


all featured photos are my own!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Paperbacks

The BFG by Roald Dahl

When I was a child, I read some books written by Roald Dahl. That was many years ago and those were Dutch translation. I really adore these editions by Puffin (I’m obsessed with watercolour if you hadn’t noticed yet), so I decided to get The BFG, especially because has been adapted into film and I prefer to read the source material first.

Monstress, Vol. 1: Awakening by Marjorie M. Liu

I honestly don’t know about this graphic novel, besides that is was recommended by a bunch of people lately, including my favourite BookTuber Thoughts on Tomes. The author is a woman of colour (her grandparents are Chinese [source]) and I’ve heard it features disability representation!

This was a birthday gift from my friend Luke and it looks absolutely beautiful! I’m not the biggest fan of graphic novels – I never connect with them as much as I do with books – but my expectations are high!

Heroine Complex by Sarah Kuhn

Heroine Complex is shelved as a graphic novel on Goodreads, but that is not correct. I don’t mind though; like I’ve said, I prefer books anyway. Some of the characters are Asian Americans, just like the author, so this sounds like another great #OwnVoices book! I also got this one as a birthday gift 🙂


hardcovers

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: the Original Screenplay by J.K. Rowling

Originally, I didn’t plan on getting the screenplay of Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. I didn’t understand why that was necessary, since you can just re-watch the movie instead. But I saw that book everywhere on my Instagram feed and it looked so pretty! So my dad gave it to me for my birthday! It’s been a couple of months since I’ve seen the film, so I might read this one soon. I hope it won’t take me too long to finish it though 😮

The World of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin

This is another birthday gift from my father! He recently started watching Game of Thrones and he knows how much I love it – especially the books – so he gave me this beautiful book on the history of Westeros. I also got a gorgeous poster covered with quotes from the TV show!

I’m currently reading A Dance With Dragons, so I hope to read The World of Ice and Fire once I finish that one.

We Are the Ants by Shaun David Hutchinson

I’ve been meaning to get We Are the Ants for months and I finally have it! I instantly started reading it and ended up loving it. You can read my review here! It is an #OwnVoices story about a gay boy named Henry. This book deals with a lot of serious topics such as bullying, suicide, depression and sexual assault, yet it still managed to be funny and heart-warming. I’m very much looking forward to reading this author’s other books.

Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall

I’m very happy that I got so many #OwnVoices books in February. Under Rose-Tainted Skies is about a girl named Norah – absolutely adore that name – who struggles with agoraphobia, as well as self-harm, OCD and depression, though I’m unsure whether those parts were #OwnVoices. Anyway, this is another book I read right away, but I unfortunately didn’t love this one as much as I loved We Are the Ants. Though I am very happy this book exists, especially for people with mental illnesses, it couldn’t keep me intrigued. I would still recommend it though! You can read my full review here.

Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery and A little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett

I’m not going to lie: these were cover buys. I have no idea what these classics are about, nor am I very interested in reading them. I was doing so good with buying books I wanted to read right away, but I caved when I saw these ones 😦 Has anyone read Anne of Green Gables and/or A Little Princess yet? Do you think I’m going to like them?

On the Edge of Gone by Corinne Duyvis

I don’t really know much about On The Edge of Gone, but @novelparadise (who you should definitely follow if you aren’t yet) loved this book and I trust her judgement completely! I’ve added so many diverse books to my TBR thanks to T’s recommendations 😀 All I know is that On The Edge of Gone is very diverse: the main character is biracial and autistic and her sister is trans. Once I read it, I will provide you with a full list of all the representation in this book.


Funko Pops

Finally, I also bought two Funko Pops! in February: let’s welcome Ariel and Tina to my collection! This is my second Ariel Funko Pop! and even though I am not the biggest fan of Tina, I do love the Harry Potter and Fantastic Beasts universe, so I decided to get it while it was cheap.


Which books did you get in February? 🙂 Do you like this slide-show I made, or do you prefer my previous book hauls?

name

☆ You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! ☆

9 thoughts on “February (and birthday) 2017 book haul!

  1. kirstychronicles says:

    I really want to read under rose tainted skies because it sounds like a book I’d really enjoy. I’ve also been hearing a lot of good things about we are the ants so I want to get to that one soon as well! Great haul, hope you had a good birthday!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

