Searching Saturday: Important Topics (4 March)

Searching Saturday was created by The Night is Dark and Full of Books and you can have a look at the topics here. Its goal is to discover new books every week! This week’s topic is:

4th: Important Topics
Reading books about important topics is… important. How intelligent of me. Which topics are important to you? Which topics would you want to know more about? Which topics would you want others to know more about? Search for books that discuss a topic that is important to you. What classifies as ‘important’ is completely up to you!

Each week, I discuss one book that I added to my TBR thanks to the topic. Since January, all my Searching Saturday posts feature diverse books and/or diverse authors.


Paperweight by Meg Haston

march_important-topic

Synopsis:

Seventeen-year-old Stevie is trapped. In her life. And now in an eating-disorder treatment center on the dusty outskirts of the New Mexico desert.

Life in the center is regimented and intrusive, a nightmare come true. Nurses and therapists watch Stevie at mealtime, accompany her to the bathroom, and challenge her to eat the foods she’s worked so hard to avoid.

Her dad has signed her up for sixty days of treatment. But what no one knows is that Stevie doesn’t plan to stay that long. There are only twenty-seven days until the anniversary of her brother Josh’s death—the death she caused. And if Stevie gets her way, there are only twenty-seven days until she too will end her life.

How did I discover this book?

emmmabooks posted a video on YouTube with recommendations for books that feature eating disorders. Paperweight was one of the books she mentioned.

Why did I add this book to my TBR?

I noticed The Bookavid wrote a raving review on Goodreads (which you can read here) and I always trust their* judgement. Apparently, this book is an #OwnVoices story, which makes me much more excited to read this! Eating disorders are a very delicate subject and I wouldn’t want to support something with inaccurate representation.

(* I couldn’t find The Bookavid’s preferred pronouns so I use ‘they’ pronouns to be safe.)


Have you read this book yet? Did you like it? 🙂

name

☆ You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! ☆

