T5W: favourite science-fiction and fantasy books (8 March)

Top Five Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Thoughts on Tomes ! Visit the Goodreads group if you’re interested in joining! This week’s topic is:

March 8th – Favorite Science Fiction & Fantasy Books *BooktubeSFF Awards Crossover Topic!*
In collaboration with the BooktubeSFF Awards, talk about your favorite science fiction and fantasy books of all time!

I’m pretty sure I posted fantasy recommendations a couple of months ago, but I decided to post an updated list today πŸ™‚ Though, if you have been following me for a while, there won’t be any surprises here! As usual, these are in no particular order.


march_favourite SFF_x.png

A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin

genre: adult high fantasy

Even though this series and the TV show adaptation are immensely popular, I have the feeling as if I am one of the only people who has read it in the book community. I completely understand how intimidating these books are – I still struggle finding the time to read them – but they are so. freaking. good! And much better than the TV show, though it did help that I already knew all the characters before I started reading the books.

Just a heads up though: the world in A Song of Ice and Fire is incredibly brutal. I love the way Martin writes female characters, but there is a lot of violence and rape.

The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater

genre: paranormal young adult fantasy

No list is complete without me mentioning The Raven Cycle. You all know how much I love this series. It’s not perfect (there’s racism and a lot of people dislike the way the LGBTQ characters are written) and while I agree with the critique, I cannot help but love this series. I want to re-read it again, but I have tons of unread books on my TBR I should get to first 😦

Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

genre: fantasy

Obviously, the Harry Potter series is on my list. Whenever I re-read the books, I notice things I don’t like about it (the sexism, lack of diversity, etc.) and I am very vocal about that, but I’m still a die-hard Harry Potter fan. My collection continues to grow and these books will always be important to me.

We Are the Ants by Shaun David Hutchinson

genre: young adult science fiction

I read We Are the Ants last month and I absolutely loved it, just as I had expected. This might seem like a contemporary novel, but it also features some science-fiction elements. Just like all the other books I mentioned above, it’s not perfect (e.g. bi-erasure, in my opinion), but I loved how this book managed to be funny and heart-warming while discussing serious topics such as bullying, physical and sexual assault, suicide and depression, etc.

Six of Crows duology by Leigh Bardugo

genre: young adult fantasy

I’m so predictable: there are zero surprises on this list. Oh well, I can’t lie: I love all the books I mentioned. Even though I was disappointed with Crooked Kingdom, I want to read more books like it. I love the multiple perspectives and how it isn’t as predictable and trope-y as most young adult fantasies released lately.

On top of that, the cast of characters is incredibly diverse! I discussed the Six of Crows duology in my thesis on diversity and it was clear that Bardugo did a lot of research.


I’m sorry this list was so predictable! I plan on reading many more fantasy (though less science-fiction) novels this year, so I hope this list of favourites is going to grow! What are some of your favourite SFF books? (scheduled on 25 February 2017)

name

β˜† You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! β˜†

 

 

