T5W: favourite science-fiction and fantasy books (8 March)

Top Five Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Thoughts on Tomes ! Visit the Goodreads group if you’re interested in joining! This week’s topic is:

March 8th – Favorite Science Fiction & Fantasy Books *BooktubeSFF Awards Crossover Topic!*
In collaboration with the BooktubeSFF Awards, talk about your favorite science fiction and fantasy books of all time!

I’m pretty sure I posted fantasy recommendations a couple of months ago, but I decided to post an updated list today 🙂 Though, if you have been following me for a while, there won’t be any surprises here! As usual, these are in no particular order.


march_favourite SFF_x.png

A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin

genre: adult high fantasy

Even though this series and the TV show adaptation are immensely popular, I have the feeling as if I am one of the only people who has read it in the book community. I completely understand how intimidating these books are – I still struggle finding the time to read them – but they are so. freaking. good! And much better than the TV show, though it did help that I already knew all the characters before I started reading the books.

Just a heads up though: the world in A Song of Ice and Fire is incredibly brutal. I love the way Martin writes female characters, but there is a lot of violence and rape.

The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater

genre: paranormal young adult fantasy

No list is complete without me mentioning The Raven Cycle. You all know how much I love this series. It’s not perfect (there’s racism and a lot of people dislike the way the LGBTQ characters are written) and while I agree with the critique, I cannot help but love this series. I want to re-read it again, but I have tons of unread books on my TBR I should get to first 😦

Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

genre: fantasy

Obviously, the Harry Potter series is on my list. Whenever I re-read the books, I notice things I don’t like about it (the sexism, lack of diversity, etc.) and I am very vocal about that, but I’m still a die-hard Harry Potter fan. My collection continues to grow and these books will always be important to me.

We Are the Ants by Shaun David Hutchinson

genre: young adult science fiction

I read We Are the Ants last month and I absolutely loved it, just as I had expected. This might seem like a contemporary novel, but it also features some science-fiction elements. Just like all the other books I mentioned above, it’s not perfect (e.g. bi-erasure, in my opinion), but I loved how this book managed to be funny and heart-warming while discussing serious topics such as bullying, physical and sexual assault, suicide and depression, etc.

Six of Crows duology by Leigh Bardugo

genre: young adult fantasy

I’m so predictable: there are zero surprises on this list. Oh well, I can’t lie: I love all the books I mentioned. Even though I was disappointed with Crooked Kingdom, I want to read more books like it. I love the multiple perspectives and how it isn’t as predictable and trope-y as most young adult fantasies released lately.

On top of that, the cast of characters is incredibly diverse! I discussed the Six of Crows duology in my thesis on diversity and it was clear that Bardugo did a lot of research.


I’m sorry this list was so predictable! I plan on reading many more fantasy (though less science-fiction) novels this year, so I hope this list of favourites is going to grow! What are some of your favourite SFF books? (scheduled on 25 February 2017)

name

☆ You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! ☆

 

 

7 thoughts on “T5W: favourite science-fiction and fantasy books (8 March)

  1. brenhinesbooks says:

    I love ASoIaF – the books are so fantastic! I remember sitting with my friends discussing the casting of the second season and whether the actors matched with how we imagined everybody. But yes, I’ve found that not as many people online have read them, but I suppose they are rather large and intimidating so that’s understandable.

    Have you read any of his other books? I really enjoyed Fevre Dream and would definitely recommend it. I’ve got a couple more on my TBR shelf that I hope to get to soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Swetlana says:

    There is nothing wrong with predictablity! Just means you’ve raved a lot about your favorite books and people noticed! 🙂

    I have looked at the boxset of the ASOIAF books so many times now, but they are just HUGE and I feel like I won’t be able to get through the books because of it. And since I never read more than one book at a time, I would loose so much reading time I could instead invest in another book!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Chelsea ϟ romweasley says:

      I completely understand that. I can’t read more than one book at a time either, so when I’m in the book for this series, I have to devote all my time to it. I started A Dance With Dragons last month and stopped mid-chapter. I’ve read several other books in the meantime, which unfortunately means I put the series on hold again 😦 I love it so much, but like you’ve said, you loose so much time reading it!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. lacyliteracy says:

    I used to be active in the ASOIAF fandom on tumlbr (which was huge), but they’ve really died over the years as the show got worse and the years past without new books.

    ASOIAF is so under appreciated in the book community. Every time I see someone say they watch the show and havent read the books….. 😓.. Since Martin pumps out like 1 book every 50 years, I don’t blame people for avoiding him though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

