School Subjects Book Tag

Today, I’m doing the School Subjects Book Tag, which was created by not-so-modern girl! When I saw this tag for the first time, I was instantly intrigued, especially as a teacher! I graduated as an English and maths teacher and am currently studying to become a history teacher as well 🙂

1. Maths- What’s a book that left your head spinning in circles

salt-to-the-sea

Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys was a life-changing book. It’s historical fiction, but based on true events. And I cannot believe I had never heard of what happened before. It makes you wonder what else has been kept a secret and changes the way you look at history.

2. English- Which book do you think has beautiful written expression?

dream-thieves

Whenever I think of The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater, I imagine Henrietta. The writing is so beautiful, you really have the feeling you are there. Of course, every book should be/is like this, but Stiefvater somehow took it to the next level.

3. Physics- Who is your favourite scientifically minded character from a book/film?

crooked-kingdom

Honestly, I’m not sure what is meant by this. My guess is Wylan from the Six of Crows duology, written by Leigh Bardugo. He is incredibly smart!

4. Chemistry- Who is your favourite literary couple?

No, don’t ask this of me. I can’t pick just one OTP!

I think my favourite M/M relationship is Adam Parrish and Ronan Lynch from the Raven Cycle. I hate choosing this couple because it was written by a heterosexual woman, but I’m not going to lie: I love Pynch. I completely understand why people are critical of it as well, since the words ‘bisexual’ and ‘gay’ are never mentioned. Not even once. On the one hand, I love that sexual orientations weren’t a big deal, but at the same time, it’s a bit of a cop out.

My favourite F/F relationship so far was the one in The Melody of You and Me by M. Hollis. I say so far, because I unfortunately haven’t read many books yet about queer women 😦 Whenever someone says “this book has LGBTQ representation” and you ask them to be more specific, they’ll tell you one of the male characters is gay. It’s great that they’re represented, but LGBTQIA+ stands for more than just the “G”.

As for favourite M/F couple, I have to go for Nina and Matthias from the Six of Crows duology. Nina is bi/pansexual and I love her forbidden romance with Matthias!

5. Biology- Who is your favourite book/film/series character?

agot

Damn, these questions are difficult. Again, it’s really hard to pick just one! But I have to go with Sansa Stark from A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin. I am incredibly protective over her. Fandoms have no problem defending villains and cocky characters, but when it comes to emotional characters – and women in particular – they are too “whiny” and “annoying”.

6. French- What is your favourite foreign book/film/programme?

I can’t think of any right away. I live in Belgium, but I never watch TV shows and films produced here or read books written in Dutch. Which explains why I wanted to become an English teacher instead of a Dutch one. Since I want to read more diversely though, I might pick up a foreign book later this year.

7. Art- Have you ever judged a book by its cover, even if you weren’t meant to?!

a-little-princess

Yes, absolutely. There are books I can already guess I won’t like, but I still buy them because the cover convinced me too. Or books that sound very interesting, but I don’t want to buy because I don’t like the cover.

I recently bought A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett. I don’t even know what this children’s classic is about, nor am I very interested in reading it. Yet I still bought it because it looks so pretty!

8. History- What was the last historical book you read?

salt-to-the-sea

The last historical book I read – excluding the ones I had to read for my history courses – was Salt to the Sea, which I read back in November. I really love historical fiction, so I should pick up this genre more often! I always say that, but never actually do it 😮

9. Geography- Which literary destination would you really like to visit? (They can be real or fictional!)

hp

Hogwarts, obviously. Imagine how much better Harry Potter and the Cursed Child could’ve been if it had focussed on Albus and Scorpius in Hogwarts, instead of that time-travelling disaster.

10. Drama- What’s a book that you think has a lot of over-dramatic hype?

acomaf

All books written by Sarah J. Maas, for sure. I have a lot of issues with her books – hence why I won’t continue both her series – yet they are impossible to avoid. I wish there was an option to blacklist books on Goodreads and Bookstagram.

Talking about drama: whenever someone does something problematic in the book community, it is always a SJM stan. Some of my favourites are problematic too, but a lot of her fans absolutely refuse to accept that. I don’t understand why people are so protective of it. Admitting something could be better, doesn’t make you any less of a fan!

name2


(scheduled on 22 February 2017)

☆ You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! ☆

