T5W: books I felt betrayed by (15 March)

Top Five Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Thoughts on Tomes ! Visit the Goodreads group if you’re interested in joining! This week’s topic is:

March 15th- Books You Felt Betrayed By
Beware the Ides of March! What books (or characters) did you feel betrayed by, for whatever reason…big or small.

Last month, I posted a list of books I was disappointed by (which you can read here). So today, I’m not going to talk about books that I liked less than I thought I would, and therefore felt betrayed by them. This topic is probably not that easy when I narrow it down πŸ˜€

These are in no particular order!


march_books-i-felt-betrayed-by_x

The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid

I haven’t even read The Diabolic, yet I already feel betrayed by it! I bought this book because this was a science-fiction standalone. In the meantime, however, this has been turned into a trilogy! I never would’ve bought this book if the author had told us from the start! I feel so betrayed by it, I don’t even want to read this book anymore…

The Foxhole Court by Nora Sakavic

I started The Foxhole Court because I was in the mood for a M/M romance at the time and The Foxhole Court is shelved as such on Goodreads. The relationship between two male characters doesn’t happen until the final book in this trilogy though! While I did find this series enjoyable, it wasn’t what I had expected.

Since, I’ve learned that the genres on Goodreads’ sidebar and not at all trustworthy. Last month, I received The Heroine Complex for my birthday. A friend bought it for me because – according to Goodreads – it was a graphic novel, but it is in fact a ‘regular’ novel. I don’t mind since I prefer those anyway, but it proves that Goodreads isn’t always correct!

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

I read An Ember in the Ashes in 2015 and re-read it last summer in anticipation of the release of A Torch Against the Night. While I loved An Ember in the Ashes both times when I read it, I have yet to read the sequel. In the meantime, I’ve discovered the third instalment in this series is set to be released in 2018 instead of this year! So there is no rush for me to read the sequel. I completely understand how difficult it must be to write an entire book in one year, but I have to re-read so many books because of it.

However, one year is nothing compared to the amount of time we have to wait for George R.R. Martin’s novels, but that doesn’t mean I have to like it.

any addition to the Harry Potter universe by J.K. Rowling

Obviously, I will never get enough of the Wizarding World. But if I am being honest – and when am I not? – the latest additions have been disappointing. I didn’t learn much new information from the Pottermore Presents collections and don’t even get me started on Harry Potter and the Cursed Child!

At the end of the day, I’d rather have no additions to the universe than disappointing ones. Even though I quite liked the Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them movie, I am very angry that J.K. Rowling continues to make the same mistakes over and over again. The film is white-washed, feature barely any diverse characters and the author supports the casting of abuser Johnny Depp.

I feel very betrayed by J.K. Rowling. I grew up loving this woman because she created this universe, but I now realise I don’t have to support her. Just because I am critical of her, doesn’t mean I’m not a fan of Harry Potter.


What books did you feel betrayed by, and why?

(scheduled on 25 February 2017)

name2

β˜† You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! β˜†