ARC: The Paths We Choose

33299493The Paths We Choose

by M. Hollis

read in March 2017

format: e-ARC

publication date: April 6th 2017

spoiler-free review!


I received an e-ARC from the author in exchange for an honest review!

I’m back with another incoherent review! When I love a book, I suddenly have no idea how to write reviews anymore. I honestly don’t even know where to start.

If you enjoyed The Melody of You and Me, you’ll definitely love The Paths We Choose. I actually enjoyed Hollis’ second novella even more than her first. This was incredibly cute and even the most cliché scene had me on the edge of my seat.

As you know, I usually read Young Adult novels. But because I want to read more books written by diverse authors and/or books that include diverse characters, I’ve started reading other genres as well. Even though I never thought I’d read New Adult books again after reading quite a few sexist ones, I’m so glad I picked up Hollis’ novellas. If anyone feels the same way as me about the genre: please don’t give up on it! There are so many NA books out there that aren’t sexist, cliché and problematic. Anyway, I digress. I was going to warn you that this book includes some explicit sex scenes.

Just as The Melody of You and Me, The Paths We Choose is very sex-positive and filled with queer women and tons of women of colour! Lily had a conversation about what she does and doesn’t like in the bedroom and I love that Hollis decided to include this. Some people might look down on this genre while they absolutely shouldn’t. Talking about your preferences is very important, as people shouldn’t have to do things they don’t want to do.

The author is Brazilian and identifies as sapphic, so this is an #OwnVoices story. I’m very much looking forward to what the author brings us next!


conclusion: The Paths We Choose is even cuter than Hollis’ first novel! I’d recommend these novellas to anyone who is looking for diverse F/F new adult romances!

name2

☆ You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! ☆