The Sunshine Blogger Award

The_Sunshine_Blogger_Award_2

I was nominated by Charlotte Annelise and Laura for The Sunshine Blogger Award! Thank you so much for nominating me!

Rules

  • Thank the person who nominated you in a blog post and link back to their blog.
  • Answer the 11 questions sent by the person who nominated you.
  • Nominate 11 new blogs to receive the award and write them 11 new questions.
  • List the rules and display the Sunshine Blogger Award logo in your post and/or on your blog.

Charlotte Annelise’s questions

How often do you read?

I try to read daily, but when I’m tired, that’s not always possible. I never go days or weeks without reading though. Lately, however, I’ve been in a reading slump 😦 It’s not the books’ faults, I’m just too busy and tired to read.

What is your favourite TV show?

Even though it’s very problematic, I absolutely love Game of Thrones. There are other TV shows I adore as well, such as The Get Down, but none compare to my obsession with that one.

What is the first book that you were obsessed with?

I wasn’t a big reader as a child. I actually only got into reading when I started college! But, even when I was young, my parents bought me the Harry Potter books. My obsession never went away 😉

When and why did your passion for blogging begin?

I started blogging in July 2016. I had tried BookTube before, but I didn’t feel confident enough to continue it. It was also very time consuming! I don’t remember how I stumbled upon the book community on WordPress, but I’m very glad I did!

Do you have any pets?

Yes, we have two cats named Ivy and Harley and two dogs, Sansa and Daisy 🙂

What is your opinions of the last movie you watched?

The last film I watched was actually a documentary: Before the Flood. It’s with Leonardo DiCaprio and it was very educational! I had to teach about global warming and this documentary was the perfect way to gather more information about it.

What is your favourite season and why?

Definitely summer! We don’t have to go to school in July and August and I love the hot weather!

What book are you currently reading?

I’m currently reading The Hate U give by Angie Thomas!

What book has been on your bookshelf the longest that you haven’t read?

Excluding Dutch translations – I don’t keep those on my shelves anyway – I think it might be An Abundance of Katherines by John Green. When I joined college and started reading more often, I absolutely fell in love with The Fault in Our Stars. I immediately bought his other books. An Abundance of Katherines and Let it Snow are the only ones I haven’t read yet. Since, however, my reading preferences have completely changed and I couldn’t even get through The Fault in Our Stars when I tried re-reading it! So I’m not sure whether I’ll ever read any more books written by John Green…

Which book character would you choose to be your best friend?

That’s a difficult question! I think the Golden Trio from the Harry Potter series or the Gangsey from The Raven Cycle!

What is your favourite book that you read for school?

When I read The Help back in 2015, I absolutely loved it. I couldn’t put it down and this book is responsible for me reading more often. Before I read that novel, it took me weeks or months to finish a book. In hindsight though, this book is very problematic, because black people don’t need a white person to save them.


Laura’s questions

If you had to make a playlist for the book you’re currently reading, what 3 songs would be on there?

Oh boy, I have no idea since I just started it. Definitely songs by artists who support the Black Lives Matter movement, such as Beyoncé’s Formation.

What is one blog post you’re incredibly proud of?

I really like my book chats, though it has been months since I’ve done on. I’m a very opinionated person and even though I can’t handle confrontations and want to please everyone, I’m not going to be fake. When I dislike a book or author, I’ll be honest about that. Anyway, you can read my book chats here. It’s been a while since I posted them, so my opinions might have changed (though I doubt it).

What book has been on your TBR the longest?

There are so many books I bought years ago, but I don’t plan on reading a lot of those. This month, I bought the second instalment in the Cormoran Strike series and I plan on reading that series someday (though not any time soon). I have my problems with J.K. Rowling, but since I love the Harry Potter series so much, I want to give this one a try.

What, besides reading, is your favorite thing to do?

I’m currently very much obsessed with Pinterest. You can have a look at my boards here. I have tons of hidden boards filled with ideas for crafts, water-paining, etc. I’m considering creating a second Pinterest account dedicated to those boards, but it seems like such a hassle.

What is one book that you wanted to love, but ended up hating?

The biggest disappointment of the year so far was Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake. It started out great and I thought it was going to become my new favourite book, but I ended up hating it. You can read my full review here.

What is your favourite reading snack?

I always read in my bed, right before I go to sleep. So I don’t eat any snacks then. When I do feel hungry, I put the book down for a while, grab something to eat and watch BookTube instead.

What made you start blogging?

I created a BookTube account in September 2015, but it was too time consuming. I don’t remember how, but last summer, I discovered book blogs and I instantly created a blog myself!

Do you think you’ll still be blogging a year from now?

I very much hope so. I’m even considering self-hosting my blog, but since I have less than 300 followers, that’s probably not a smart idea. Anyway, I really love talking about books and I hope my blog will continue to grow. I’d for instance love to post bookish pictures on here instead of Instagram, but I’m not sure whether my followers would like that.

If you had to pick 3 non-Harry Potter characters to share a room with at Hogwarts, who would you choose?

I’m going to say the first three characters that come to mind: Ronan Lynch, Sansa Stark and Molly (from The Upside of Unrequited). I love these characters and I’m convinced they’d make an interesting combination!

What is your favourite first sentence of a book?

I recently read a book with a really good first sentence, but I can’t remember which novel it was! To be honest though, I rarely pay attention to first sentences. The only one I know is the first sentence of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. And We Are the Ants also has a great first line: Life is bullshit.

Do you read poetry? If so, who is your favourite poet?

No, I don’t. But I really want to get into it. Poetry has become popular lately and I want to know what all the hype is about 🙂


I know I’m supposed to nominate people and write eleven questions, but I’m rather busy right now with teacher training. I’m so sorry!

name2

twitterblog lovingoodreadsinstagrammailpinteresttumblr

Bewaren

2 thoughts on “The Sunshine Blogger Award

Leave a Reply

