T10T: read in one sitting theme (21 March)

shortest_books_I've_read.png

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish and you can have a look at the future topics here! This week’s topic is:

March 21: Read In One Sitting Theme: ten of the shortest books I’ve read, top ten books I read in one sitting, ten books to read when you are short on time, top ten books that will make you read the whole day away, etc.

I’m going to talk about some of the shortest books I’ve read. I’m not going to include any graphic novels or comic books.

March_shortest books_x.png

We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie ➳ 52 pages (review)

I read We Should All Be Feminists last year and I absolutely loved it. I ended up buying three copies! Unfortunately, the author made some very transphobic comments a couple of weeks ago. She said that trans women are trans women, implying that trans women aren’t “real” women. You can read more about that here. She recently published another book, but I obviously won’t be reading that one.

The Grownup by Gillian Flynn ➳ 64 pages (review)

Gillian Flynn is definitely an auto-buy author for me. I’ve read all of her books, except for Gone Girl. But I’ve seen the film adaptations multiple times already. While I thought her three other books were okay, I’m always certain I won’t be able to predict the twists and turns. Anyway, I read The Grownup in 2015 and quite liked it.

Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell ➳ 96 pages (review)

This one is less than one hundred pages, yet Kindred Spirits still managed to annoy me! Gabe, the male character, is the embodiment of what I hate about male nerds. He believed the main character was a “fake fan” because she is a girl and popular in school. I own every Young Adult novel Rainbow Rowell has written, but I have no desire to read Carry On and Fangirl. I read Eleanor & Park when I was younger and loved it, but now, I would definitely notice the racism and other problematic aspects and therefore absolutely hate it.

Coffee Boy by Austin Chant ➳ 103 pages (review to come on Thursday)

Coffee Boy is a cute M/M New Adult romance with a trans main character! I’m cisgender, so whatever I have to say doesn’t matter at all, but I loved that Kieran, the main character, didn’t always pass. When trans people are represented – which is, let’s be honest, almost never – they often pass easily, but that isn’t the case for a lot of trans people. Obviously I don’t love the fact that people use the wrong pronouns, all I’m saying is that it’s not they get represented as well. Anyway, I’d totally recommend this novella!

The Paths We Choose by M. Hollis ➳ (review)

The Paths We Choose is another novella I’d recommend! M. Hollis writes such cute, diverse F/F New Adult romances. I loved this one even more than The Melody of You and Me. I can’t wait to read whatever Hollis writes next!


Have you read any of these books? Do you have any diverse short story or novella recommendations for me?

name2

twitterblog lovingoodreadsinstagrammailpinteresttumblr

Bewaren

One thought on “T10T: read in one sitting theme (21 March)

Leave a Reply

