Diversity Masterpost

diversity_masterpost_2

Hello everyone! For a while now, I’ve wanted to read more diverse books. I joined Diversity Bingo and that has been a great help. I’ve been following people on Twitter who advocate for diverse books and that thanks to these wonderful people, I’ve been introduced to many novels I had never heard of before. Whenever they post a list of recommendations, I send it to myself so I can have a look at it later. But then I started thinking that those recommendations might be useful for other people as well. That’s why I decided to create this masterpost.

All credit goes to the people who created these posts. I’m merely combining them on my blog. Do research beforehand. Be careful you don’t read something that might potentially harm you. If you know a book features problematic representation, let me know and I’ll delete it from the list. I didn’t have the time to go through each book individually.

I will continue to update this masterpost because this is obviously not a complete list as new diverse books are constantly being released!


ownvoices

  • 11 #OwnVoices reads of 2017 by Barnes & Noble (x)
  • YA books about POC by POC by The Bookavid (x)
  • 10 books by transgender authors featuring trans characters by The Guardian (x)

lgbtqia

  • books with LGBTQIA Asian protagonists by Read Diverse Books (x)
  • 12 LGBTQ contemporary romance novellas by LGBTQ reads (x)
  • #queer52 reading challenge by YA Interrobang (x)
  • books with bisexual characters by Two Book Thieves (x)
  • books with F/F romance or LGBTQ+ female characters (x)
  • Twitter tread of LGBTQ+ books by shellyrambles (x)
  • most anticipated LGBTQA YA books of 2017 by Barnes & Noble (x)
  • 2017 YA about girls who like girls by The Bookavid (x)
  • 13 Upcoming 2017 YA Books About Boys Who Like Boy by The Bookavid (x)
  • Thread of books with bisexual characters by Bookishness and Tea (x)
  • Thread of books with pansexual characters by M. Hollis (x)
  • 10 books by transgender authors featuring trans characters by The Guardian (x)

poc

  • books with LGBTQIA Asian protagonists by Read Diverse Books (x)
  • 10 diverse books by YA authors of colour to read in 2017 by Teen Vogue (x)
  • YA books by Asian women by The Bookavid (x)
  • YA books by black women by The Bookavid (x)
  • Asian 2017 YA and MG books by Airy Reads (x)
  • 10 brown BookTubers to watch by Shanna Miles (x)
  • 2017 Books Written by Authors of Color by The Book Voyagers (x)
  • African, African-American and Caribbean 2017 releases by African Book Addict (x)

disabilities

  • YA books by disabled authors by The Bookavid (x)

muslim

  • 26 authors of Muslim decent by Entertainment Weekly (x)
  • Muslim representation in books by Word Wonders (x)
  • A thread of upcoming YA books in 2017 with Muslim protagonist by The Tales of Two ReadersΒ  (x)

mental health

diversity bingo tbr en recommendations

more recommendations

  • diverse books with less than 100 ratings on Goodreads by Maria Hollis (x)
  • diverse YA books releasing in 2017 by Aimal Farooq (x)
  • The bookish diversity link list 2017 by Diary of a Reading Addict (x)
  • 12 diverse short story collections and anthologies by Read Diverse Books (x)
  • 100 works of fiction and non-fiction, all about feminism by Book Riot (x)
  • 60 diverse books to look forward to in 2017 by Bookishness and Tea (x)
  • books by Latinx authors by The Bookavid (x)
  • A small list of diverse romance books by The Book Voyagers (x)
  • 50 already released diverse books on my TBR by Bookishness and Tea (x)

If you want to add a link to this list or if I made any mistakes, let me know and I’ll take care of it! I hope this list is going to be useful for many readers πŸ™‚ Thank you to everyone who contributed!

name2

twitterblog lovingoodreadsinstagrammailpinteresttumblr

Bewaren

Bewaren

19 thoughts on “Diversity Masterpost

    • Chelsea ϟ romweasley says:

      I’ve seen that book recommended a couple of times, so I’d be surprised it’s not on any of those lists. But it’s definitely harder to find recommendations dedicated to learning disabilities, that’s true.

      Like

      • ashley says:

        From what I’ve seen, a lot of diversity advocates don’t consider learning disabilities real disabilities. They are legitimate disabilities, they’re just different.

        Like

  1. Chelsea says:

    Fabulous resource! Thank you for putting this together, I’ll definitely have to go through these lists and add to my tbr.

    Like

  2. iliveandbreathewords says:

    Great post! I have some more you could add to the Diversity Bingo section. I posted a list on my blog and mine links to other lists as well:
    https://iliveandbreathewords.wordpress.com/2017/01/06/diversity-bingo-2017-tbr-options/
    https://www.theguardian.com/childrens-books-site/2016/feb/01/top-10-books-transgender-authors-trans-characters (Books with trans & nonbinary mcs)
    http://weezieswhimsicalwritings.blogspot.pt/2016/12/diversity-bingo-2017-suggestions.html?spref=tw&m=1 (Diversity bingo tbr)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sandra says:

    Great post! And a really easy way for people to find more diverse books to read. I always feel that looking on my own would take a very long time and it’s nice to see people compiling lists of them, especially if they read them knowing that they enjoyed it, makes me more keen on reading them or putting them on my tbr for the time being.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Chelsea ϟ romweasley says:

      I especially find it hard going through Goodreads reviews to find diverse books, because people often don’t mention WHY the book is diverse. My biggest pet peeve is when people say a book is LGBTQIA+, but when I ask them to be more specific, they say the male character is gay. LGBTQIA =/= only the G!!! Anyway, that’s why I think this list is going to be helpful, as the bloggers explain why exactly the books are diverse πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Debbie says:

    This is a great post! This will make it so much easier to find new diverse books. I personally find Mental Health recommendations by emmmabooks on Youtube, she talks a lot about diverse books in general, I don’t know if you have seen her channel.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Chelsea ϟ romweasley says:

      Thanks for telling me, I’ll look it up! I searched for some mental health recommendations, but all lists included Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon and that book should never be recommended for the mental health representation as it is incredibly ableist. So I didn’t even bother going through the other books on those lists.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

