March 2017 Book Haul

march_book_haul.png

march haul.pngHello, my dear followers! Today I am going to talk about all the books I got this month. I bought waaaay to many books in March! I bought tons of diverse books the past couple of weeks, but Book Depository is so slow! Therefore, the majority of my haul hasn’t even arrived yet, so my April book haul is definitely going to be a big one as well!

To prevent this list from becoming even longer, I won’t include any of the e-books I bought. I’ve never talked about the latest additions to my Kindle and I don’t plan on doing that now either. I don’t know why, I just don’t really consider them a part of my haul. Anyway, let’s get started!


all featured photos are my own!

Hardcovers

march_part1

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas (Book Depository | Wordery)

My pre-order of The Hate U Give took much longer to arrive than expected, but I managed to read it in the meantime and just like everyone else, I absolutely loved this book! You can read my review here. I would recommend it to everyone. It certainly deserves the hype it has received!

The Song Rising by Samantha Shannon (Book Depository | Wordery)

I honestly I have no desire to even read this series anymore. The Bone Season romanticises slavery and I really don’t want to support problematic books. But I spent a lot of money on book one and two (I own them both in hardcover, as you can see in the picture), so it was actually cheaper for me to buy the third book as well, instead of never reading this series and therefore wasting my money. If money wasn’t an issue for me, I’d never touch those problematic books.

Recently, Diana Gabaldon, the author of the Outlander series posted some very shitty things on Twitter, so I don’t want to support that author either. But I already own the first six books in the series. That’s a lot of money! And therefore, I can’t afford to neglect them.

Anyway, since I kind of have to read these series because of my money issues, I might as well discuss all the problematic aspects while I review it. I did some research and couldn’t find many people who talked about those issues. I’m a white person so I’m definitely not the best person to call out the romanticisation of slavery, but I will definitely read this series very critically.


Paperbacks

march_part2.png

History is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera (Book Depository | Wordery)

I haven’t read any of Silvera’s books yet, but I definitely want to! I have the feeling I am going to love them, but I’m also afraid I might end up feeling disappointed. I know I’m not the only one who postpones reading books because of this 😝

A Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard (Book Depository | Wordery)

Unlike History is All You Left Me, A Quiet Kind of Thunder is not an #OwnVoices story. However, I have yet to see a negative review. Everyone says this book deals with the diversity (one character is deaf, the other selective mute) very well and I hope people who are selective mute and/or deaf agree. This story sounds incredibly cute! Though it isn’t what I’d normally reach for, I think I’m going to love this book!

Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde (Book Depository | Wordery)

I mentioned this book in my Spring TBR and I am so excited to read it! I’m currently reading A Torch Against the Night, so I think Queens of Geek is going to be my next read. I’ve heard nothing but positive things about it!

march_part3

Emmy & Oliver by Robin Benway (Book Depository | Wordery)

You’ve probably heard me say that I am not a fan of Young Adult contemporaries anymore. Well, I was absolutely wrong! I read some brilliant contemporaries recently such as The Upside of Unrequited and Noteworthy, so I decided to buy more books in that genre. I spotted Emmy & Oliver for a very cheap prince and it had been on my TBR for a while.

Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch (Book Depository | Wordery)

I’ll be honest: I got the following three books because they were cheap. And I regret that decision, because I’m honestly not that interested in reading them. Anyway, I have no idea what Snow Like Ashes is about! All I know is that this is a YA fantasy trilogy and people seem to agree that this series went downhill… So, this one is definitely not on the top of my TBR.

The Silkworm by Robert Galbraith (Book Depository | Wordery)

The Silkworm is the second book in the Cormoran Strike series by J.K. Rowling. I’ve owned the first instalment for a couple of years already, but haven’t read it yet. Nor do I plan to anytime soon. Though I know for a fact I will read it one day when I am in the mood for an adult mystery. For the time being, however, I’ll stick to YA πŸ™‚ This seems like a series for adults and even though I’m 22 years old, I don’t consider myself an adult πŸ˜€

The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson (Book Depository | Wordery)

I read I’ll Give You the Sun by Nelson last summer and while I quite liked it, I ultimately did feel disappointed. You can read my full review here. So I’m not dying to read this book right away. Like I’ve said, I mainly got it because it was so cheap.


funko.pngFunko Pops

My dad went to New York City and brought back some souvenirs for us. I actually wanted some Hot Topic exclusive Funko Pops, but apparently, they don’t have that store in NYC. Still, I am very happy with these two new additions to my collection! Let’s welcome Hagrid and Fred Weasley to my Funko Pop family!

I ordered two Funko Pops myself this month, but they haven’t arrived yet.


Which books did you acquire in March? Have you read any of the books I bought yet?

name2

twitterblog lovingoodreadsinstagrammailpinteresttumblr

Bewaren

Bewaren

4 thoughts on “March 2017 Book Haul

  1. ashley says:

    This is a really good haul. I love the cover of Emmy & Oliver, it’s bright and cheery! The only book I bought was A Conjuring of Light, everything else has come from the library and I’ve been reading what I already have.

    Like

  2. Swetlana says:

    Great haul and a nice selection of books for sure! I’ve read and loved THUG and I think enjoyed the Snow Like Ashes trilogy too, though I haven’t read the final book yet.. or bought it, for that matter. But I do want to, I don’t like series unfinished like that.

    Like

  3. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews says:

    Amazing haul, Chelsea 😍 I really enjoyed A Quiet Kind of Thunder! I can’t comment on the deaf/mute rep, but the anxiety rep really related to what I went through. It’s normally a book I’d reach for either, but it really surprised me! Queens of Geek has become a new all time favourite of mine so I hope you enjoy that one too πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

