March 2017 wrap-up

march_wrap_up.png

Hello, book lovers! I was incredibly busy in March and as a result, I got into a bit of a reading slump. I never seem to be able to combine teacher training and reading, so I hope I’ll be able to solve this problem once I am a full-time teacher! I definitely don’t want to give up on my hobby. Having said that, I really enjoyed all the books I read this month! It’s no coincidence all books are diverse either πŸ˜‰ As you know, I am a very critical reader, so I’m absolutely not lying when I say that diverse books are so much better!

march wrap-up_x.png

Just like last month, I decided to create a fun graphic about my wrap-up. I was very surprised that to see I only read one physical copy and contemporaries only! For over a year, I’ve been saying that contemporaries aren’t my cup of tea anymore, but I was completely wrong. As long as they are in some way diverse, I can still thoroughly enjoy a YA contemporary novel!


Books I read

The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli (review)
Book Depository | Wordery

I absolutely loved The Upside of Unrequited, even more than Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda! This is probably my all-time favourite contemporary. It’s incredibly diverse, filled with feminist moments and a very positive, heart-warming read. While I was writing my review, I had tears in my eyes because this book means so much to me. I want to re-read it already once it is released on April 11th πŸ™‚

The Paths We Choose by M. Hollis (review)
Amazon

Last month, I read The Melody of You and Me by M. Hollis and I thoroughly enjoyed it! This author writes such cute and diverse F/F New Adult romances! I received an ARC for The Paths We Choose a couple of weeks ago and I immediately started reading it. I ended up loving it even more than its predecessor! On Monday (April 3th) I am going to post an interview I did with M. Hollis and I hope you’ll check my blog to read it πŸ˜€

Coffee Boy by Austin Chant (review)
AmazonΒ 

I’ve been meaning to read Coffee Boy ever since I heard about this novella! Unfortunately, it was a bit too expensive for me, but as soon as it was on sale, I had to buy it! And it was worth every penny. This is such a cute M/M romance, featuring a trans main character and a bisexual side character.

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas (review)
Book Depository | Wordery

My pre-order of The Hate U Give arrived much later than expected, but I started reading it as soon as I got my hands on it! This book absolutely deserves the hype it has received. Even though this book deals with such a sad topic (police brutality), it still managed to make me laugh out loud multiple times. I cannot wait to read whatever Angie Thomas brings us next!

How To Make A Wish by by Ashley Herring Blake (review)
Book Depository | Wordery

Even though How To Make A Wish seemed to be written for me – with a bisexual main character and an absent mother – I didn’t love it as much as I had expected. Don’t be mistaken: it’s a great book! But because of my busy schedule, it took me way too long to finish this and I constantly felt anxious because I was afraid how the author was going to handle the mother-daughter relationship. I shouldn’t have been, since the ending was perfect! I definitely plan to read a finished copy of How To Make A Wish once I have some more time and I’m convinced I will love it more then!


Books I did not finish

My very first DNF of the year is See You in the Cosmos by Jack Cheng. I blame myself though: I shouldn’t request books on Netgalley without knowing much about them! I feel very bad about not giving this another chance because I received an ARC. This could have been a great diverse Middle Grade novel, but I wasn’t feeling the writing style. On top of that, the mental health representation seemed problematic to me. You can read my full, spoiler-free review here.


Diversity Bingo 2017 progress

Like I said last month, I won’t upload my Diversity Bingo progress just yet. Some books fit in multiple categories, so I’m going to upload a final version in December. In the meantime, however, I’ll talk about the books I read this month and the categories they belong to:

  • The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli ➳ practising Jewish MC (Molly is Jewish and so is Becky Albertalli), MC with an under-represented bodyΒ andΒ MC with an invisible disabilityΒ (Molly takesΒ antidepressants, though we don’t know why)
  • The Paths We Choose by M. Hollis ➳  Own Voices Latinx MC (Lily and M. Hollis are both from Brazil)
  • Coffee Boy by Austin Chant ➳romance with a trans MC
  • The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas ➳ book by author of color, black MC (#OwnVoices) and POC on the cover

posts I uploaded in March

Top 10 Tuesday
Top 5 Wednesday
Searching Saturday
book tags
Other

Which books did you read in March? Did you join Diversity Bingo 2017 as well? If so, have you made a lot of progress already?

name2

twitterblog lovingoodreadsinstagrammailpinteresttumblr

5 thoughts on “March 2017 wrap-up

Leave a Reply

