Winter 2017 reading update!

reading_updates_winter.png

Hello, book lovers! Today I am going to talk about the best books I read this winter and let you know how my Diversity Bingo 2017 progress is doing. I know, I know, March isn’t technically winter, but I am going to talk about the books I read from January 1st 2017 to March 31th 2017.

The Books I read

winter_wrapup.png

During the first quarter of this year, I read a lot of great books. There were only two I didn’t enjoy: Girl Hearts Girl and Three Dark Crowns. I also didn’t finished one novel, See You in the Cosmos. I would recommend all the other books I read!


My Five Favourites

The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli ➳  review
Amazon | Wordery | Book Depository

The Upside of Unrequited was hands down my favourite book I read this winter. I loved everything about it and can’t wait to get my hands on a finished copy. I’m so protective over this book. Whenever I see someone who didn’t love it, I cannot help but disagree so much. The Upside of Unrequited is definitely one of my all-time favourite books!

We Are the Ants by Shaun David Hutchinson ➳  review
Amazon | Wordery | Book Depository

This book deals with very heavy topics such as suicide, depression, bullying, sexual assault, etc. Still, We Are the Ants was a heart-warming and funny read. I definitely had to put it down from time to time because it was emotionally very consuming, but I certainly plan to re-read We Are the Ants one day.

Noteworthy by Riley Redgate ➳ review
Amazon | Wordery | Book Depository

It was Noteworthy by Riley Redgate that made me realise that I do like Young Adult contemporaries, I just wasn’t reading the right ones. Noteworthy was the very first ARC I’ve ever read and I plan on getting a finished copy once it’s released!

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas ➳ review
Amazon | Wordery | Book Depository

The Hate U Give is probably going to be on everyone’s favourites lists. It absolutely deserves the hype it has received. Just like We Are the Ants, it deals with a very serious topic (police brutality), yet Angie Thomas still managed to write a heart-warming and funny book. I can’t wait to see what she writes next.

A Feast for Crows by George R.R. Martin ➳ review
Amazon | Wordery | Book Depository

It took me forever to read A Feast for Crows, but once I dedicated my time to it, I loved it! I was planning on reading A Dance with Dragons right away – actually, I’ve already started it – but once again, I’m neglecting this series and reading shorter books instead. I’m hoping to include the fifth book in my Spring wrap-up, so please make sure I read it!


2017 Reading Challenge

reading_challenge_update.png

I want to read fifty-two books this year (one book a week) and I’m pleased to see that I’m ahead of schedule. I’m so happy I’ve loved nearly all the books I read so far and I’m not behind on my challenge. Let’s hope it stays that way 🙂

Having said that, I’m (hopefully) going to graduate in June. Which means that I have no idea what is going to happen then. I don’t know whether I’ll find a job right away, so I don’t know whether I’ll have time to read…


Diversity Bingo progress

I’ve read 14 books so far, and 12 of those fit in a category of the Diversity Bingo sheet. Some books fit in multiple categories, so the progress below is not at all final. If you want to know which books fit in which category, you should check out my monthly wrap-ups!

diversity_bingo_progress.png

I didn’t enjoy Girl Hearts Girl and Three Dark Crowns so I definitely plan on reading other books for the categories ‘diverse non-fiction’ and ‘book by author of colour’.

I’m very surprised that I already completed 1/3 of the challenges. I didn’t expect to succeed in Diversity Bingo, but since I’m doing so well and keep buying diverse books, I definitely want to complete the entire grid by December!


Did you like this reading update? It’s the first time I’m doing this and I’m wondering whether it adds anything to my monthly wrap-ups. Is there anything else I could talk about in these quarterly updates?

How many books did you read in January, February and March? If you’re doing Diversity Bingo, how much progress have you made?

name2

twitterblog lovingoodreadsinstagrammailpinteresttumblr