T5W: top SFF books on my TBR

march_sff_books_on_tbr.png

Top Five Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Thoughts on Tomes ! Visit the Goodreads group if youโ€™re interested in joining! This weekโ€™s topic is:

April 5th: Top SFF Books on Your TBR *Booktube SFF Awards Babble Crossover Topic!*
Talk about the science fiction and fantasy books you want to read ASAP!

There are so many books on my TBR, so it will be hard to limit this to merely five! As you know, these are in no particular order.

april_sff on tbr_x.png

The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco

Amazon | Book Depository | Wordery

The Bone Witch has received many mixed reviews, so I was hesitant to buy this. But the people who dislike it, are people who don’t tend to read a lot of diverse books. When a book is problematic, that’s often a deal-breaker for me. But none of the critique The Bone Witch received has anything to do with that, so I definitely want to give this one a try! I’ve heard it’s quite slow, but I can live with that as long as it is a unique and diverse fantasy story.

Labyrinth Lost by by Zoraida Cรณrdova

Amazon | Book Depository | Wordery

I could say the exact same thing about Labyrinth Lost. This one has also received many mixed reviews, but because diverse fantasy novels aren’t that common, I want to read it. I’m constantly searching for more diverse YA fantasies that don’t rely on the same tropes we see everywhere, and I believe Labyrinth Lost is exactly what I’ve been looking for!

Empress of a Thousands Skies by Rhoda Belleza

Amazon | Book Depository | Wordery

I see a pattern: all these diverse SFF novels have received many mixed reviews and none of them have anything to do with possible problematic aspects. Are readers more critical when it comes to diverse books, or are they actually mediocre? I’m afraid it isn’t the latter, so I want to read these books to see for myself. Although I rarely read science-fiction, Empress of a Thousands Skies has caught my attention. I don’t own a physical copy yet, but I’ll probably buy one soon.

A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir

Amazon | Book Depository | Wordery

I already started A Torch Against the Night last week, but I’m afraid I wasn’t in the mood for it. I’ve read about one hundred pages and I liked it so far, but I never actually wanted to pick it up. Still, I’m hoping to get to this one soon! I have put A Torch Against the Night off for too long and have got to continue this series ASAP before I forget everything again.

A Dance with Dragons by George R.R. Martin

Amazon | Book Depository | Wordery

I’m so angry: why is it taking me so long to read this series? I absolutely love A Song of Ice and Fire, yet I don’t actually read the books but pick up smaller ones instead. I constantly tell myself I have to stop doing that, but I never actually do. Last month, I started reading A Dance with Dragons right after I finished A Feast for Crows, but I didn’t make it very far before I put it down, AGAIN. Next month, I have to spend a lot of time on the train, so maybe I should take A Dance with Dragons with me then.


Which science-fiction and fantasy books are on your TBR? Have you read any of the books I mentioned? Feel free to leave a link to your Top 5 Wednesday post below!

name2

twitterblog lovingoodreadsinstagrammailpinteresttumblr

Bewaren