T10T: Things That Will Instantly Make Me Want To Read A Book

bookish_turnons

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish and you can have a look at the future topics here! This week’s topic is:

April 18: Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly Want To Read A Book

What intrigues me to pick up a book? What kind of books grab my attention? That’s what I’m going to talk about today! As usual, these are in no particular order.

april_turnon1.png

I hope you’ve noticed in my reviews and monthly wrap-ups that I’ve been reading diverse books more often than I used to. Some readers are worried that diversity doesn’t guarantee quality, but I disagree. I’ve loved almost every book I’ve read this year already. Of course, I’m primarily talking about books written by marginalised authors and #OwnVoices books, not books with problematic representation.

When a book has received mixed reviews because of the pacing, writing style or subjective things like that, I’m still going to read the book if it’s diverse. I always wonder whether those books are actually mediocre, or whether readers are more critical of diverse books and authors. I’m afraid it’s the latter.

april_turnon2.png

I think the lack of originality is definitely an issue in the YA Fantasy genre. Even the titles are starting to sound similar: thorns, roses, witches, crowns, queens and blood can be found everywhere. And look at these covers:

april_turnon

I can’t even be bothered to read the synopsis of some of these YA fantasies because the titles and covers alone are so generic.

Therefore, I’m instantly intrigued by books that sound and looks unique. I hate it when you read a synopsis and you can already tell which tropes the book is going to include.

april_turnon3.png

There are some books that I can already guess I won’t like, but I’m still contemplating buying them because of the covers. If you’ve read my book hauls, you know I sometimes buy books without having any intention to read them. I definitely have to stop doing that, but sometimes, it’s difficult to resist beautiful covers.

Wink Poppy Midnight and Caraval are two examples of books I’m 99% sure I wouldn’t like, but are still on my Amazon wishlist because of the covers. Hopefully, I will be able to resist buying those solely for their covers.

april_turnon_xapril_turnon4

Everyone has those authors you’d any book by, regardless of what it’s about! The first auto-buy author that comes to mind for me is Becky Albertalli. The Upside of Unrequited is my favourite book and I loved Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda as well!

april_turnon5.png

I follow so many amazing people on Twitter and when they love a book, I’ll add it to my TBR without even researching what it’s about. I’ve added so many romance novels to my Kindle because of this, and that’s not even a genre I read often (or ever)! But I trust their judgement completely.

I’ve bought tons of books thanks to Novel Paradise’s recommendations. Whenever T enjoyed a book, I instantly add it to my TBR πŸ˜€


What are some things that will instantly make you want to read a book? I bet I could’ve added many more “turn-ons’ to this list, but I’m feeling uninspired today πŸ™‚

name2

twitterblog lovingoodreadsinstagrammailpinteresttumblr

8 thoughts on “T10T: Things That Will Instantly Make Me Want To Read A Book

  1. justanotherloststudent says:

    I agree with diversity, pretty covers and unique synopsis so hard. Also I’m glad you bought up the thing about YA covers/synopses. I kind of feel like ever since twilight, GOT, hunger games, etc there’s been a lot of lazy authors who piggyback off of those successes and just write/market a book which will be attractive to the fantasy YA market. Its such a massive book turn off.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Swetlana says:

    I am definitely a sucker for a pretty cover! I mean, I often find myself just staring at covers of books I own so this isn’t really a surprise to me! I probably bought Caraval for the pretty cover most of all and then luckily I ended up enjoying the book too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

