huge book unhaul!

book_unhaul.png

Happy Sunday, fellow book lovers! A couple of weeks ago, I decided I wanted to get rid of some books. I never knew how to do that – as not a lot of people read English books in my country – but the lovely Laura (@ Green Tea & Paperbacks) added me to a Facebook group for Dutch and Flemish readers, so I was finally able to unhaul these books.

There are various reasons why I’m getting rid of them: I have no interested in (re)reading them, I read them and didn’t enjoy them or they are problematic. Since I’m getting rid of over 40 books (!!!), I won’t go into detail about each of them, but I’m merely going to show you which ones I’m unhauling.

Some books have already been sold, but most haven’t. So if you live in or near Belgium and are interested in any of these books, feel free to let me know!

For a long time, I never thought I’d unhaul books. I want a big library and didn’t care that I didn’t like or don’t want to read some of the books on my shelves. Even though I still find it hard to get rid of them, I’d rather spend the money I earn by selling them on new books instead of keeping them just because.


shatter_me_trilogy_x.png

I read this trilogy back in 2015 and never plan on re-reading it. I didn’t like the last two book in this series, so the only reason why I kept them, were the covers.

cassandra_clare_x

I only read City of Bones and tried to read City of Ashes, but I couldn’t stand Clary. And since she’s the protagonist of The Mortal Instruments, there’s no way I’d get through it.

To be honest, I have no interest in reading Cassandra Clare’s other books either. If I were ten years younger, I’d probably enjoy them, but I’m not, so: goodbye! 😀

sjm_x.png

I enjoyed Maas’ series when I read them in 2015, but I won’t continue either. I never plan on picking up another one of her books again. It’s especially her fans I struggle with. They can’t seem to take any criticism and while these series don’t interest me anymore because they’re so heteronormative, misogynistic and white, the fans definitely have something to do with it as well.

if_i_stay_duology_x

It has been YEARS since I’ve read If I Stay and I instantly knew I was never going to pick up the sequel. Even though it ends on a cliffhanger, I didn’t care to find out what was going to happen next. I didn’t hate If I Stay, but it never appealed to me. I don’t plan on reading another Gayle Forman book because of it.

read_x

I’m mostly getting rid of some YA contemporaries (goodbye, John Green!) and some series I won’t finish.

unread_or_DNF_x.png

I didn’t realise I was getting rid of so many unread books. But truth be told: I won’t read these. I’ve had some of them on my shelves for years and have no interest in reading them.


Unfortunately, this doesn’t mean that I’ve got rid of all the problematic books on my shelves. I for example didn’t unhaul the Outlander series and my hardcover copies of The Bone Seasons series, because I’d lose too much money selling those. I’d never be able to sell them for a decent amount, so I’m keeping those for the time being.

How about you

Have you ever unhauled books? Do you see any shocking choices on my list? Let me know your thoughts and opinions in the comments!

name2

twitterblog lovingoodreadsinstagrammailpinteresttumblr

10 thoughts on “huge book unhaul!

  1. ashley says:

    I have unhauled books a few times. The first time I unhauled books, I put as many of them in a box as I could fit and sent them to the Just One Book project in California to help rebuild a school district’s library. The books that didn’t fit in the box, half went to Goodwill and the other half went to the library. I never sell my books when I unhaul them. I use my privilege to help the underprivileged obtain books that they can’t get on their own.

    Like

  2. justanotherloststudent says:

    ahhahaaaaa. I recently uploaded all of my John Green books onto a friend recently as well :’) Just out of curiosity, why were you not interested in reading the art of not being normal?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. TheBlackLitQueen says:

    I agree with Maas books. However, I stopped reading them because they started to bore me and I heard she just ruins all the characters so I was like “yeah, I’m good I’ll just pretend book 2 was the last book.” I just heard bad things about the author in general that makes me not want to pick up her work anymore.

    I also unhauled the entire Shatter Me series. I know I’ll never reread the series.

    John Green and I don’t get along so I also got rid of his books.

    Honestly, I can’t even defend any of the books you’re unhauling. 🙂

    Like

  4. Bentley ★ BookBastion.net says:

    I totally agree with you on Sarah J. Maas. Her work is too heteronormative and white for me to really get invested in. I read half of Crown of Midnight and knew it was enough for me. Hearing that the later books in that series basically have devolved into sexual situations between the numerous couples makes me pretty sure I made the right decision. I own the first book in her Court series, but haven’t worked up the energy yet to even consider starting it.

    Like

  5. DevBlog says:

    However, I stopped reading them because they started to bore me and I heard she just ruins all the characters so I was like “yeah, I’m good I’ll just pretend book 2 was the last book. The first time I unhauled books, I put as many of them in a box as I could fit and sent them to the Just One Book project in California to help rebuild a school district’s library.

    Like

Leave a Reply

