April book haul

april.png

book haul.pngHello, book lovers! Before I talk about my April book haul, I have an announcement to make : I’m going on a hiatus. I’m currently doing teacher training (hence why this post is already a few days late to begin with) and I have tons of assignments and exams in May and June. I’m set to graduate soon, so I want to focus on that for the time being. Please bear with me. I promise I’ll be more active once all of that is over. I’ll try to schedule posts whenever I have some spare time, but I can’t make any promises.

At the beginning of the month, I bought a lot of books. But I was able to hold myself back for the rest of the month, so I’m very happy with the amount of books I bought. On top of that, they’re all diverse books!


all featured photos are my own!

Hardcovers

book haul_part1

Labyrinth Lost
Amazon | Book Depository | Wordery

I tried reading Labyrinth Lost as soon as I got it, but I’m putting it down for the time being. I hope this isn’t a permanent thing, but I can’t seem to get into fantasies lately! I’m only in the mood to read YA contemporaries anymore. Still, I will definitely give Labyrinth Lost another chance, as I did like everything I had read so far.

American Street
Amazon | Book Depository | Wordery

Most of the YA contemporaries I read, feature LGBTQIAP+ characters and/or mental illness representation. I really ought to pick up more books featuring characters of colour, so I think I’m going to enjoy American Street! I haven’t seen many readers talk about this book, but it sounds great.

The Bone Witch
Amazon | Book Depository | Wordery

Once I’m in the mood again to pick up fantasies, The Bone Witch is going to be on the top of my TBR. I absolutely love the cover – there should be more purple books! – and I think this novel is going to be very original.

book haul_part2.png

Flying Lessons and Other StoriesΒ 
Amazon | Book Depository | Wordery

I’ve already read this anthology and I would recommend it to everyone. Every story features diverse characters (primarily people of colour) and even though this is a middle grade, I loved the writing style. I do have to admit that I immediately forgot what most stories were about and I think it lacked other representation, such as mental health and queer characters.

Iron Cast
Amazon | Book Depository | Wordery

I haven’t seen a lot of people talk about Iron Cast either, but I also got it because it’s a diverse book. These days, that is honestly enough to convince me to pick up a book. Diversity does mean quality. I’ve loved nearly all the books I read so far in 2017, and nearly all were diverse books (and #OwnVoices).

The Miseducation of Cameron Post
Amazon | Book Depository | Wordery

This YA contemporary looks HUGE, but all I needed to hear was “queer female protagonist” and I picked this book up. I just hope it’s going to have a happy ending…. I really wouldn’t know since I haven’t seen a lot of people talk about this book. I really hope the representation is done right.

divider-pinkBooks for review

Future Leaders of Nowhere
Amazon | Book Depository | Wordery

future leaders of nowhere.png

I received a book for review this month! The author of Future Leaders of Nowhere contacted me and asked me whether I was interested in reading her #OwnVoices LGBTQ story. Naturally, I immediately said yes! I can’t wait to pick this one up; I really think I’m going to love it πŸ˜€ It’s not the first time an author has contacted me via my blog, but it’s the first time I’ve actually replied and let them know that I wanted to read their book.

divider-pinkPaperbacks

Far From You
Amazon | Book Depository | Wordery

far from you.png

Finally, I also got Far From You by Tess Sharpe. I follow her on Twitter, so I’ll probably love this book! I only got one paperback this month, which is very unlike me. But literally all my paperbacks from Book Depository arrive damaged and I’m sick of it. I’d rather invest in hardcovers than spend my money on damaged goods.

divider-pinkFunko Pops

I also got two new Funko Pops this month: another Ron Weasley Funko Pop and another addition to my Disney collection: Rapunzel (and Pascal)!

How about you

This was my April book haul! Which books did you get last month? πŸ™‚

name2

twitterblog lovingoodreadsinstagrammailpinteresttumblr

 

6 thoughts on “April book haul

  1. ashley says:

    I have Labryinth Lost on my TBR! I have read American Street, while I did enjoy it there were some things in it that bothered me. I’m intrigued to read Iron Cast because not only is it diverse, but because it’s set where I live just in a different time period.

    Like

  2. Swetlana says:

    Good luck on your exams, Chelsea! I’ve got American Street on my TBR too and hopefully I’ll pick it up soon, but I am on the opposite end of your reading mood: all I want is fantasy lately! So I’m not rushing to pick it up just yet!

    Like

  3. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews says:

    Awesome haul 😍 I really, really need to read Iron Cast because I got an ARC of that last year but still haven’t gotten to it which is so bad. A bunch of the other books you got are all my TBR too. I quite enjoyed Labyrinth Lost! I felt like the characters were a tiny but under developed, but I loved the world and magic so much.

    Good luck with your exams β™₯

    Like

Leave a Reply

