T10T: on my reading wishlist

reading_wishlist.png

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish and you can have a look at the future topics here! This week’s topic is:

May 9: Ten Things On Our Reading Wishlist (topic originally done January 2014) — things you want to see more of in books — tropes, a time period, a specific type of character, an issue tackled, a certain plot, etc. All those things that make you think I WANT MORE OF THIS IN BOOKS!

female friendships

Even though many Young Adult readers are girls, I think books definitely lack healthy and supportive female friendships, and I can’t think of a lot of female friendships that are very important and prominent in books. Often we are told that two female characters are best friends, but we never get to see why they’re friends. I just want more interactions between female characters!

To be honest, I don’t have many friends in real life. But that doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy reading about them. I’m also tired of those best friends who couldn’t be more different from our sweet, innocent main character, and are described as “slutty”. That’s not the kind of friendships I want to see. I want girls who support each other, instead of compete with one another!

divider-pink

(unproblematic) forbidden romance

I’m not often a fan of romance, but I have noticed that I’m a sucker for forbidden romances. It’s not like a pick up books because of that trope, but maybe I should. Unfortunately, a lot of those relationships are problematic (which I didn’t notice at first). I love it when two characters come from different backgrounds, yet can succeed despite their differents. Everyone seems to love the enemies-to-lovers trope or best friends-to-lovers trope, but I’m not a fan of those.

divider-pink

multiple POVs / friend squads

It’s no coincidence that most of my favourite books are character-driven. I don’t care much about the plot, as long as the protagonist is likeable and relatable. Books like that, but with multiple POVs, are even better! Especially when the characters are friends, instead of enemies or each other’s competition. It’s definitely the reason why I love The Raven Cycle and the Six of Crows duology so much.

divider-pink

sex-positive and/or take-no-shit female aracters

If I were an actress, I’d want to play the bad-ass, confident, sex-positive female characters. I definitely have a weakness for those ladies. This can either be in the form of Cersei Lannister, or Nina Zenik.

I’d really like it if more historical fiction and fantasy novels featured sex workers. I think this can be done in YA as well. Having more characters out there that aren’t ashamed of their sex lives, could be very positive. I only read The Assassin’s Blade and won’t read the rest of the Throne of Glass series, but Lysandra was probably my favourite character in the series because if this.

divider-pink

diverse books

Last, but definitely not least, I think that every single book should feature diverse characters. I’ve been reading diverse books almost exclusively and it’s been going great! I’ve never enjoyed so many books in a row and it has re-newed my love for genre I thought I didn’t like anymore. I could write an entire post about why representation is important, but so many people have done that already. The Upside of Unrequited made me cry because I finally read about a girl who faces the same struggles as I do. Under Rose-Tainted Skies made me realise that my issues with self-harm are much worse than I thought. Queens of Geek showed me that my sexuality is valid, no matter who I have or haven’t been with. Like I said, I could go on about why this is so important.

How about you

What’s on your reading wishlist? I could add many more things to this list, but these were the first that came to mind. I’m way too busy to write down anything more decent anyway. Have a nice day!

name2

twitterblog lovingoodreadsinstagrammailpinteresttumblr

3 thoughts on “T10T: on my reading wishlist

  1. Holly says:

    I think it’s so important for there to be more books written about positive, supportive female friendships. (And really, just awesome friendships in general.) Great list! 🙂

    Like

  2. ashley says:

    I am so with you on more female friendships that are positive and not filled with girl/hate and girl/shame. While those things are realistic and happen in the real world, there are also a lot of positive female friendships too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

