MID-YEAR BOOK FREAK OUT TAG (2017 edition)

book_freakout_tag(2017_edition).png

Hello, my fellow book lovers! I don’t know whether anyone has noticed, but I have been absent for quite a while. I have been focussing on my teacher training and exams non-stop, but I’m finally back! This tag is the perfect way to get into blogging, because I’m very much freaking out about my reading progress! I’ve been in a massive reading slump and hopefully, blogging about books will get me in the mood to read again. Anyway, let’s get started!

divider-pink1. Best book you’ve read so far in 2017.

I read an e-ARC of The Upside of Unrequited and it is probably my all-time favourite book! I haven’t acquired a physical copy yet, but as soon as I get my hands on it, I’ll re-read this beauty.


2. Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2017.

I’ve primarily read contemporaries this year, so not a lot of sequels for me. But I’m slowly – very slowly – making my way through A Song of Ice and Fire and each book is better than the last. So I have to pick A Feast for Crows, though that technically is not a sequel, but the fourth instalment in the series.


3. New release you haven’t read yet, but want to.

There are so many books I could choose from! One of my most anticipated reads is When Dimple met Rishi. I recently bought a hardcover copy and I can’t wait for it to arrive.


4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year.

Once again, there are many books I could choose from. I follow Tristina WrightΒ  (@TristinaWright)Β on Twitter and I adore her. So I’m looking forward 27 Hours, which is set to be released in October.


5. Biggest disappointment.

Except for my reading slump, my reading year has been quite good! I’ve enjoyed most of the books I read. But Three Dark Crowns was a very big disappointment. At first, I thought it was going to become my new favourite fantasy series, but it didn’t deliver. You can read my full review here.


6. Biggest surprise.

This is a difficult question, but I think I’ll go for The Melody of You and Me and The Paths We Choose by M. Hollis. I never, ever read new adult books or novellas, and certainly not romances. But I really need to see more queer women and F/F relationships represented in books (or in all media in general), so I decided to give the genre a chance and I certainly don’t regret it! I can’t wait to see what Hollis brings us next. By the way, make sure to check out the interview I did with her.


7. Favourite new author. (Debut or new to you)

How can I choose just one?! Though I rated How To Make a Wish by Ashley Herring Blake four stars, this book means a lot to me, because it hits very close to home. That’s probably why I couldn’t fully enjoy it; it made me feel very anxious, but I shouldn’t have been. Anyway, Blake’s first book is about a girl whose father cheated on her mother, and that is – unfortunately – also very relatable content. Her books honestly seem written about and for me.


8. Newest fictional crush.

Sorry to disappoint, but I rarely get fictional crushes. I’m bi, but that doesn’t mean I have twice as many crushes πŸ˜€


9. Newest favourite character.

Molly Peskin-Suso! I love her. She’s one of the most relatable characters, ever!

I’m currently re-reading the Harry Potter series and Goblet of Fire used to be my least favourite instalment. But this year, it has become my favourite book and probably for the first time while watching the movie, I had to cry. [spoiler-alert!!!] Cedric’s death makes me so sad. It just isn’t fair… So yeah, he surprisingly became one of my favourite characters.


10. Book that made you cry.

Like I just said, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. While writing my review of The Upside of Unrequited, I also got very emotional, because that book means the world to me.


11. Book that made you happy.

Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde is such a cute and fluffy contemporary, while dealing with topics such as fatphobia and anxiety at the same time. This year, I’ve truly fallen in love with books like this.


under-rose-tainted-skies12. Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year (or received)

I absolutely love the cover of Rose-Tainted Skies. I’m obsessed with watercolours, so this design is right up my alley.

Actually, water-colouring is another reason why I have been so absent. I recently picked up a new hobby (hand lettering, painting with watercolours…), which definitely gets in the way of reading.


13. What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

A million. There’s never enough time to read everything you want, especially if you get into reading slumps as easily as I do.

I’ve been postponing picking it up again, because it will be so time-consuming, but I’d really like to read A Dance With Dragons soon. I really have to dedicate some time to that one, but it’s going to be worth it.


I’m so sorry some of these answers are repetitive, but I’ve only 22 books so far and most of those were in the beginning of the year. Have a nice day!

name2

twitterblog lovingoodreadsinstagrammailpinteresttumblr

8 thoughts on “MID-YEAR BOOK FREAK OUT TAG (2017 edition)

Leave a Reply

