May & June book haul

june may haul.png

Hello, book lovers! Today I’m going to talk about the books I got in May and June. Even though I’m combining two months, there isn’t much to discuss. I’ve been too busy to buy books and have been spending my money on craft supplies instead. Still, I’m satisfied with this haul because I only bought books I really want to read and all books are diverse 😀


all photos are my own!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Hardcovers

The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig

Let’s get this one out of the way first: I regret buying this book. As soon as I ordered it, the author decided to defend 1) a biphobic author and 2) a “reviewer” who has harassed many people and even went after a bisexual author. As far as I know, Heilig hasn’t apologised yet, but I probably wouldn’t know since I immediately unfollowed her on Twitter. I want to read this since I spend money on this, but on the other hand, I don’t want to support this author anymore.

Ramona Blue by Julie Murphy

I already planned to read this book, but pre-ordered it right away when I learnt there was an international pre-order campaign going on! I’ve never been able to get any pre-order goodies, because they’re rarely available internationally.

Unfortunately, I ended up disliking this book (to put it mildly). The author said on social media the main character identifies as bisexual, but that’s not true. Read my review if you want to know why I wouldn’t recommend picking up Ramona Blue.

Empress of a Thousand Skies by Rhoda Belleza

I’m not the biggest sci-fi fan, but I had to buy Empress of a Thousand Skies nonetheless. The cover looks absolutely stunning and it has received many mixed reviews, so I want to make up my own mind. In my opinion, some people are much more critical of diverse books (whether intentionally or not) and that’s not fair.

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

Of course I had to buy When Dimple Met Rishi. Everyone has been raving about it for months, even though it was only released on May 30th! I’m currently reading this one, actually 🙂

We Are Okay by Nina LaCour

A lot of reviewers have called We Are Okay boring, but that’s somehow making me want to pick this up even more. I prefer character-driven stories anyway, so I have the feeling I’m going to love this one. Besides, I’m always looking to read more books featuring queer girls.

Paperback

Girl Out of Water by Laura Silverman

I honestly don’t know much about this book, but it has received raving reviews! I follow the author in Twitter and she seems very nice. Unfortunately, the weather in Belgium is currently dreadful , and I’d like to read this one on a nice summer’s day.


Like I said, I didn’t buy many books this spring! Which books did you get? 🙂

name2

Twitter Chalky Blue  Pinterest Chalky Blue  Instagram Chalky Blue  Gplus Chalky Blue  Email Chalky Blue  Bloglovin Chalky Blue

4 thoughts on “May & June book haul

Leave a Reply

