Spring 2017 reading update

reading_updates_spring.png

Hello, book lovers! Since I was inactive for almost three months, I’m going to talk about all the books I read in April, May and June today.

The Books I read

spring wrapup.png

During winter, I had read 14 books. In spring, I only read a total of 9. Because of my exams and teacher training, I was too busy to read. Even though I’m graduated now, I’m still having trouble getting back into reading. I do hope I’ll be able to read more books during the summer.

All the books I read were contemporaries, except for Salt., which is a poetry collection and Prisoner of Azkaban and Goblet of Fire, which I re-read by listening to them on audio-book.

Due to my reading slump, I DNF’d a couple of books, but I plan on picking those up again someday, so won’t discuss them today.

My Favourite

queens of geekLast time, I discussed my five favourites, but because I only read nine books this spring, I’ll only be chosing one novel that stood out for me. Of course, I’d be able to include Prisoner of Azkaban and Goblet of Fire as well, but you already know how much I love the series.

Queens of Geek was the first book I read in Spring and it was my favourite. So cute, fluffy and adorable, yet still able to tackle serious topics such as fatphobia and anxiety. I would absolutely recommend this fast-paced YA contemporary! You can read my full review here.

2017 Reading Challenge

reading_challenge.png

I am no longer ahead on my 2017 Goodreads reading challenge. I really don’t want to rush myself like I had to last year, so I hope I’ll be able to catch up soon. Still, my life is very unpredictable at the moment. I just graduated, so I don’t know how soon I’ll be able to find a job, whether I’ll have time to read…

Diversity Bingo progress

To be honest, I kind of forgot about Diversity Bingo. I’ve been too busy to check which category each book qualifies for. Having said that, I’m not disappointed in myself, because I have been reading diverse books exclusively, with the exception of the Harry Potter series. Though I might not have ticked off every square by the end of this year, I’m still proud of myself and I will continue to pick up diverse books (as you can tell by yesterday’s book haul).

So I won’t post my progress yet. I still have to decide whether I’ll try to complete the challenge, or whether I’ll just pick up whatever diverse book I’m in the mood for like I’m doing now. At the end of the day, I think that’s what the creators tried to make people do, so I wouldn’t feel to bad for not completing every square on the grid.


From now on, I plan on doing my monthly wrap-ups again. Spring was an exception because I was too busy to read, let alone to write a blog-post telling you how far I’m behind on my reading challenge.

Anyway, what was your favourite book you read in spring?

name2

Twitter Chalky Blue  Pinterest Chalky Blue  Instagram Chalky Blue  Gplus Chalky Blue  Email Chalky Blue  Bloglovin Chalky Blue

3 thoughts on “Spring 2017 reading update

  1. Holly says:

    My reading tends to dip down in the spring as well due to exams and general chaos in school haha… it’s nice to have the summer break to read a lot again!! It looks like you read some awesome books 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

