The Nintendo Book Tag

the nintendo book tag.png

It’s Sunday, so time for another book tag 🙂 Thank you Nikki (@ The Night is Dark and Full of Books) for tagging me! This tag was created by Sam’s Nonsense on Youtube.

NES (NINTENDO ENTERTAINMENT SYSTEM): A CLASSIC YOU WANT TO READ

and then there were none

I’m not a fan of classics, but And Then There Were None is on my TBR. I started it last year, but it was so confusing, I decided to put it down for the time being.

SNES (SUPER NINTENDO): A SEQUEL YOU LIKED MORE THAN THE FIRST

dream thieves

Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love The Raven Boys, but The Dream Thieves is one of my all-time favourite books. I really want to re-read this series again soon and I hope I’ll enjoy The Raven King more this time around.

NINTENDO 64: A BOOK THAT REVOLUTIONIZED THE WAY YOU LOOK AT THE WORLD

salt to the sea

As a history teacher, I can honestly say that Salt to the Sea changed my life. Though World War II is one of the most documented events ever, there is still so much I don’t know. That’s the lesson I learnt from this beautiful novel.

GAMECUBE: A POPULAR BOOK THAT DID NOT GO OVER SO WELL WITH YOU

ramona blue

I was so excited to read Ramona Blue, but this book ended up hurting me very much. I’d suggest reading my review if you want to know why. I’m unfortunately used to books being biphobic, but when a bisexual author does this, it hurts even worse.

WII: A NEW FAVORITE

queens of geek

I used to think that fluffy YA contemporaries weren’t my cup of tea, but this year, my reading taste has changed completely. Queens of Geek is a wonderful story about two best friends who go to SupaCon, which was a lot of fun to read about, but on top of that, this book is also diverse!

NINTENDO POWER:  A SERIES YOU WANT TO START

 

truthwitch

I own both Truthwitch and Windwitch, but I still haven’t started this series yet. I have the feeling I’m going to like it, but I haven’t been in the mood to read YA fantasies lately, and especially not ones that aren’t diverse. If Truthwitch is indeed diverse, I haven’t seen anyone mention it.

SUPER MARIO: A CHARACTER THAT YOU’D LOVE TO SQUISH LIKE A GOOMBA

game of thrones

Assuming this is a negative thing (I don’t know, I’m not overly familiar with Nintendo!), I have to go with Tyrion Lannister from A Song of Ice and Fire. Unpopular opinion,  but I absolutely hate him. He’s so overrated – he literally does nothing besides drink, talk and pay women to have sex with him – and on top of that, he’s a rapist and has done multiple horrible things. Look, Cersei Lannister has done horrible things as well, but at least she doesn’t think she’s the good guy, whereas Tyrion really believes he’s being treated unfairly. It amazes me that this series is filled with many amazing characters, yet people manage to hype up the most mediocre ones…

ZELDA: A NEWER FANTASY THAT YOU CONSIDER TO BE A MODERN CLASSIC

percy jackson

Besides Harry Potter and A Song of Ice and Fire, I believe the Percy Jackson books by Rick Riordan will one day be considered a classic (for children’s literature). I’ve only read Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief (I know, shame on me!), but I own many of Riordan’s books and definitely want to get to them… someday 😀

SAMUS-ARAN: FAVORITE SCI-FI NOVEL OR ONE YOU WANT TO READ

long way to a small angry planet

Sci-fi is not a genre I usually reach for, but there are a couple of diverse sci-fi books I do want to read, such as Empress of a Thousand Skies and The Long Way To a Small Angry Planet. Whenever a book is diverse, I’m willing to give it a chance, even if the genre usually isn’t my cup of tea.

POKEMON: BOOK EDITIONS THAT YOU WANT TO COLLECT

poa

If you follow me on Instagram, it won’t come as a surprise that I own multiple editions of the Harry Potter series. I’d always like more, but I’m currently reorganising my bookshelves and there honestly isn’t much room left to collect more. But one or two additions won’t hurt, right?

DONKEY KONG: A BOOK WITH ORIGINAL CHARACTERS

dream thieves

I know, I know, why must I mention The Raven Cycle AGAIN? But there aren’t many characters that are as fleshed out as these ones. They seem so very real. They’re flawed, but I still love them all so very much.

NINTENDO FANDOM: FAVORITE NINTENDO GAMES

Nintendo wasn’t a big part of my childhood, nor is it now, so this question isn’t easy to answer. I did play the Pokémon games a few years ago and enjoy them. I got into the games because of the person I was dating at the time, but when we broke up, I lost my interest. Sometimes I want to pick the hobby up again, but I always choose to read or do crafts instead.


Thank you Nikki for tagging me! If you want to do this tag, consider yourself tagged by me! I’m serious! You can say in your post that you were tagged by me, don’t worry 😉

name2

Twitter Chalky Blue  Pinterest Chalky Blue  Instagram Chalky Blue  Gplus Chalky Blue  Email Chalky Blue  Bloglovin Chalky Blue

9 thoughts on “The Nintendo Book Tag

  1. lacyliteracy says:

    OMG I HATE TYRION TOO!

    It feels like everyone loves him, and while I get the appeal, he’s so overrated. People don’t like him for the right reasons. A lot of the time his fans seem to gloss over the less savory parts of his character, which make him an interesting character in the first place, in favor of his “humor~” (especially show fans… but don’t get me started on show Tyrion).

    And PJO is totally a modern classic.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Chelsea ϟ romweasley says:

      UGH yes! In the show, they try to erase the shitty things he does in the book, which only makes it harder to explain why Tyrion isn’t exactly a decent human being. Never try to discuss Game of Thrones with male fans because their favourite character is definitely Tyrion and they hate all female characters, like Sansa Stark.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. ashley says:

    I own the original US hardcovers of Harry Potter and then I’m buying the illustrated editions as they’re released. So it is perfectly fine to own a few multiple editions of Harry Potter.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. justanotherloststudent says:

    Ooohh! I love this tag so much and I really like your answers. I’m reading the Long Way at the moment, and it is honestly SO GOOD. I have been recommending it to anyone and everyone because I’m enjoying it so much, which is nice as I’ve not picked up a book that I just can’t put down for ages.

    I am also intrigued by the book of And then there were None. I watched the BBC adaptation when it first came out and was surprised at how much I loved it! I’m not sure if I would enjoy the book though.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Chelsea ϟ romweasley says:

      That’s great to hear because I’m in a massive reading slump!!! Maybe I should pick this up soon 🙂

      That’s exactly why I bought And Then There Were None. I haven’t watched the BBC adaptation yet, but I’ve heard great things about it, so I definitely want to watch it. But I’d like to read the book first, even though that doesn’t appeal as much to me as the adaptation does.

      Like

  4. Nerd Narration says:

    I love this idea almost as much as I love your blog’s layout. Also I’m so glad to see another person that isn’t completely hyped for And Then There Were None. I read the whole thing but wasn’t blown away by any means.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

