T5W: books that aren’t inspired by the Western world

Books That Aren't Inspired By The Western World.png

Top Five Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Thoughts on Tomes ! Visit the Goodreads group if you’re interested in joining! This week’s topic is:

July 19th: Books That Aren’t Set In/Inspired By The Western World
I know this is a long title, but I couldn’t figure out how else to word it and still get the point across. Talk about books that are set outside of the Western World (so outside of North America and Western Europe) or if they are SFF, books that aren’t inspired by those places (so no medieval setting fantasy!)

So today, I am going to talk about five 2017 releases that aren’t inspired by the Western world and am exited to read! These are in no particular order. All books are written by authors of colour. I don’t know whether they’re all set outside of the Western world, but I do think all novels were inspired by the authors’ cultures.

july_books that aren't inspired by western world_x.png

A Crown of Wishes by Roshani Chokshi

A Crown of Wishes is the companion novel to The Star-Touched Queen, which I haven’t read yet either. But I’ve heard many positive things about this one especially, so I guess I’ll pick up the “sequel” first and then decide whether the first one is worth picking up. Anyway, I absolutely love the cover!

The Library of Fates by by Aditi Khorana

Look at that cover! It’s one of my absolutely favourites! The Library of Fates was released yesterday and is inspired by Indian folklore. Yes, romances aren’t usually my cup of tea, but this is a YA fantasy after all and I really ought to pick that genre up again!

Want by Cindy Pon

This novel is set in futuristic Taipei and was released last month. I bought a copy for my dear friend Laura (@ Green Tea and Paperbacks) but I haven’t to buy a copy for myself yet. I’ve mentioned a few times before that I don’t usually read sci-fi novels, but I’m always willing to give diverse authors and books a chance nevertheless 🙂

The Gauntlet by Karuna Riazi

The Gauntlet is described as “a steampunk Jumanji with a Middle Eastern flair“. I don’t know what Jumanji is, so I’m intrigued 😀 This novel received a lot of hype when it was released, but unfortunately, that has died down. That always happens and I hate that about the book community. Not everyone is able to read or buy books as soon as they’re released. It makes me feel left out… Anyway, this is a middle grade novel and though I don’t read that genre often, I really should because it makes me even more excited to pick this novel up!

Wild Beauty by Anna-Marie McLemore

Everyone’s excitement for Wild Beauty has made me really excited as well, even though I have no idea what this novel is about! I do know it features queer characters and that the cover looks absolutely stunning 😀


Are you excited for these novels? Have you read any of the books mentioned above yet? Obviously, I could have added many more books to this list, but it’s Top FIVE Wednesday after all 😉

name2

Twitter Chalky Blue  Pinterest Chalky Blue  Instagram Chalky Blue  Gplus Chalky Blue  Email Chalky Blue  Bloglovin Chalky Blue

9 thoughts on “T5W: books that aren’t inspired by the Western world

  1. Elou Carroll says:

    You don’t know what Jumanji is? :O It’s an excellent film from 1996, featuring the late great Robin Williams and a board game which gets a little too real. It’s very good. Being a 90s child, I watched it on repeat, even though it scared me at times.

    Some of these sound really fun 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lacyliteracy says:

    Wild Beauty is so good!!! It’s kind of hard to explain the plot without spoiling it though, but it revolves heavily around why the family has to tend the gardens in the first place and the history of the land.

    There are so many queer characters. Most of them are bisexual, but there’s also a gay character and a genderqueer character!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

