Popular book series I won’t read

pooular book series i won't read_xx

Hello, my fellow book lovers! Today, I’m going to talk about five book series I have no intention of reading. I know, I know, never say never…. but I’ll probably never pick these up!

I’ll only discuss five series, so obviously won’t be able to include all the series in the world I don’t want to read, such as Fifty Shades of Grey. Furthermore, I’m not going to discuss series I don’t want to continue, such as Throne of Glass and The Mortal Instruments.

These are in no particular.

the selection.pngThe Selection series was very popular when I first joined the book community. The plot never appealed to me – I’m not a big fan of books that are allocishet romance-driven – but I wanted to give them a chance because I liked the covers. I never actually bought these books, however, and I definitely don’t plan to anymore.

divergent.png

I joined the book community around the time the Divergent movie adaptation was released. I watched the film, but I didn’t find it interesting enough to continue watching them or to pick up the book series. This genre doesn’t really appeal to me, except for The Hunger Games, which I do want to re-read and re-watch (again!).

infernal devices.pngI’ve mentioned this a few times already: I don’t plan on reading any of Clare’s books. I got rid of the entire Mortal Instruments series and a few of her other books a couple of months ago and I haven’t regretted it once. I read City of Bones and half of the sequel, but I wasn’t enjoying it. Furthermore, all of her books are set in the same universe, so I’d feel forced to read them all. I know many readers are a fan of her work, but I don’t feel as if I’m missing out on anything.LOTR.pngTolkien’s work is the biggest maybe on this list. I’ve watched The Lord of The Rings and The Hobbit trilogies a few times, but I can’t say I’m exactly a Tolkien-fan. Therefore, I don’t plan on reading these books. In a few years, I might feel differently, but for the time being, I’m much more interested in other fantasy novels. I prefer political intrigue and that’s probably what’s missing for me in his work.

twilight.pngWhen I was a teenager, the Twilight books and especially films were so popular. At first I was into the films, but after a while, I couldn’t even be bothered to watch them all. I think I skipped the last one or two. Anyway, there’s nothing about Twilight that seems appealing to me. Once again, this one is very allocishet romance-driven and I don’t tend to enjoy such books.


What are some series you don’t ever plan on reading?

name2

Twitter Chalky Blue  Pinterest Chalky Blue  Instagram Chalky Blue  Gplus Chalky Blue  Email Chalky Blue  Bloglovin Chalky Blue

16 thoughts on “Popular book series I won’t read

  1. paperjasmine says:

    I think the Infernal Devices and The Dark Artifices are so much better than The Mortal Instruments, which I only liked and continued to read cause of Simon, Magnus and Alec tbh. As much as I’ve enjoyed reading all the books, the newer series much more so, can see why you wouldn’t want to get caught up in it all. As for your other books, definitely agree I won’t be reading them either!

    Liked by 1 person

      • paperjasmine says:

        Totally understandable 😊 There are plenty of other books out there that are better for you to enjoy 👍. I’m still planning on finishing them myself, but who knows how I’ll feel when the next one eventually comes out haha.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Ann Elise says:

    I was vaguely part of the bookish community when Kiera Cass’s agent threw a twitter tantrum over a reviewer writing a negative review of The Selection, and Kiera kinda went along with it, so I was never going to bother reading that. I’m actually amazed she ended up having a writing career at all. Privilege, I guess.

    Goes to show reviewer abuse isn’t a recent phenomenon…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A Pretty Lil Book Blog says:

    I really wouldn’t recommend the Lord of the Rings. Like you I wasn’t a huge fan of the films, and now I’m reading the first one and finding it very difficult/dull. If you don’t like the movies the books will seem just plain tedious

    Liked by 1 person

      • A Pretty Lil Book Blog says:

        Agreed! I can appreciate it’s well written and the world Tolkien creates is amazing, I’m afraid it’s just not really a book I can get excited about

        Liked by 1 person

          • A Pretty Lil Book Blog says:

            Same here, for all people say Order of the Phoenix is the most boring Harry Potter book it’s actually one of my favourites, but I just can’t get excited about Lord of the Rings.

            Liked by 1 person

  4. ashley says:

    I will never read Fifty Shades of Grey, nothing about them appeals to me at all and I don’t see the hype. Tolkien isn’t for everybody so I can see how you won’t read the books.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Chelsea ϟ romweasley says:

      I wouldn’t really know whether Tolkien is my cup of tea. I think George R.R. Martin is compared to him often and I love A Song of Ice and Fire, but that series contains a lot more political intrigue and fleshed-out character, whereas all the bad ones in LOTR/The Hobbit are ugly monsters and the good guys are good looking elves 😀

      Like

  5. Adalyn @Glittering Reads says:

    I love Cassandra Clare, but I can definitely understand why others would not want to read them.
    The Selection is such a guilty pleasure of mine to be honest. I hate those books, but at the same time they’re so enjoyable to read, haha. I hated Divergent, so I have no plans to ever finish that series.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Yasmine @ Swissbookworm says:

    I’ve read everything you’ve listed here except the Selection series and I loved all of them 😛 But I understand all of your reasons for not reading them. Besides, there are soooo many other great books and series out there. It makes it a lot easier to know which ones you don’t want to read :))

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

