Down the TBR Hole (#1 – 10)

1 10.png

You probably know the feeling: looking at your Goodreads TBR and being overwhelmed by the amount of books on those shelves. Last year, I tried to remove books I wasn’t interested in from that list, but I currently have 378 books on it, which is way too much. That’s why I decided to join Down the TBR hole, which was created by Lost in a Story.

From time to time, I’ll go to my Goodreads to-read shelf and change the order to ‘ascending date added’. I’ll pick the first ten books on that list and decide whether or not they’ll remain on my TBR.

the silkworm.png

I haven’t even read the The Cuckoo’s Calling, the first instalment in this series, yet, but I do own a paperback copy of both. I want to read this book someday, but it certainly won’t happen anytime soon.

verdict: remains on physical TBR

the book thief.png

The Book Thief was one of the first English novels I bought. I got it around the time the film adaptation was released, but I obviously haven’t picked this up yet. I definitely enjoy historical fiction from time to time, so I won’t get rid of this one.

verdict: remains on physical TBR

the unbecoming of mara dyer.png

The Mara Dyer series is a paranormal fantasy/romance and therefore, I’m unsure whether I want to keep it. If it’s similar to The Raven Cycle, I might enjoy it, but if the romance is too prominent, this most likely won’t be my cup of tea. What do you think? Should I keep this series on my TBR?

verdict: unsure, but will probably remove from TBR

peculiar children.png

I’ve owned this book for over two years, yet have never been in the mood to pick it up. Still, I want to know what the hype’s about. Just like the first two titles I mentioned in this post, I want to read Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, but it probably won’t happen anytime soon.

verdict: remains on physical TBR

the great gatsby.png

I never, ever reach for classics. They remind me of mandatory reads and I rarely enjoyed those. Still, The Great Gatsby is one of the few classics I might pick up. I feel like I have to, as an English teacher. Besides, I quite enjoyed the film adaptation with Leonardo Dicaprio.

verdict: remains on physical TBR

the martian.png

Science-fiction is another genre I rarely reach for. So when I ultimately do pick up a sci-fi novel, I have no idea what’s going on, because I’m not familiar with the genre. But a lot of people seem to love this novel, so I want to give it a chance. Perhaps on audiobook?

verdict: remains on physical TBR

every last word.png

I feel conflicted about Every Last Word . On the one hand, I want to read this because the main character has Purely-Obsessional OCD, but on the other hand, I’m wary because this isn’t an #OwnVoices novel. Furthermore, this novel was released several years ago, when book with unhappy endings such as The Fault in Our Stars and All the Bright Places were very popular. And I’m not looking for a book that portrays OCD in a negative or inaccurate way.

verdict: remove from TBR

legend.png

I bought Legend a few months ago because it was very cheap, but I have honestly no intention of reading it. I didn’t enjoy The Young Elites and Legend appeals to me even less. I’m not even as excited for Warcross as most readers (partially because I detest the cover) but if that one receives raving reviews, I might check it out. As for Legend, I probably won’t unhaul it, but I won’t read it either.

verdict: remove from TBR

all the rage

All the Rage is a novel about sexual assault and therefore, I’m so scared to read this. First of all, this story is going to enrage me either way, because no one deserves to get sexually assaulted. Secondly, if the author handles this topic the wrong way, it can cause a lot of hurt. So I’m convinced I won’t enjoy this novel,  but I’m okay with that. Still, that’s the reason why I keep postponing reading books that deal with similar topics. They need to be discussed, but it makes me angry and scared nonetheless.

verdict: remains on wishlist and TBR

since you've been gone.png

This year, my love for contemporaries was rekindled. So I want to read Since You’ve Been Gone. But because this novel is almost 450 pages long, I keep postponing it. I only read a handful of books each month, and I think that’s quite a lot of pages for a YA contemporary. If I had more time to read during the summer, however, I would’ve picked this up already!

verdict: remains on physical TBR

blue-watercolor-border-line-coverSo that was my first Down the TBR Hole post. Do you think I made any mistakes in my verdicts? Should I do this weekly, or whenever I feel like it? Let me know in the comments!

name2

Twitter Chalky Blue  Pinterest Chalky Blue  Instagram Chalky Blue  Gplus Chalky Blue  Email Chalky Blue  Bloglovin Chalky Blue

 

12 thoughts on “Down the TBR Hole (#1 – 10)

  1. Rosie says:

    I don’t actually use GoodReads, but updating TBR lists over time is such a good idea. I hardly ever reach for the classics – I should probably give some a shot, but they remind me of prescribed reading at secondary school and I’ve avoided them ever since!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Crystal Yasmine says:

    This is a brilliant idea! I think I’m going to do this, too! 🙂

    I enjoyed the Legend series pretty much and if I remember correctly I read all three books in a very short time one after the other. 🙂 If you’re not a fan of dystopia or similar book trilogies, then I can totally understand why you wouldn’t read it. I haven’t read Marie Lu’s other books yet, though.

    I loved Since You’ve Been Gone! I hope you’ll enjoy it just as much when you finally get to it. And I think you’ll read through it quite fast even if it has that many pages.

    Good luck with the rest of your TBR 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. romiewedeservelove says:

    I really love the Mara Dyer trilogy, it’s one of my favourites. And thought the first book has romance in it, I don’t feel like it’s too much, it adds something to the story but you’re not overwhelmed by it’s presence.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

