July 2017 wrap-up

july.png

Hello, my fellow book lovers! It’s the end the month, so I’m going to talk about all the books I’ve read in July today! But first, I’ll show you a chart of this month’s genres and formats:

genre_format_july1.png

I was very surprised when I learnt that I had read eight books this month! That’s a lot for me, especially since I had to go to work almost daily. Thanks to audiobooks, however, I was able to read so much! It has also been a long time since I’ve read more fantasies than contemporaries.

So let’s have a look at those eight books:

OOTP.pngThis month, I continued my re-read of the Harry Potter series. Thanks to the audiobooks, I was not only able to read Order of the Phoenix, but read Half-Blood Prince and Deathly Hallows as well! I would absolutely recommend listening to this series on audiobook! I loved it and I’m constantly looking for similar narrations. I find it very important that the narrator uses a different voice for each character, otherwise, it gets too confusing.

As for Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix: I’m so protective of Harry in this one. A lot of readers say he’s whiny and rude, but he has every right to be so. He’s obviously traumatised from all the things he’s been through!

HBP.pngOne of my favourite things about the Harry Potter series, are the back-stories. Yes, it’s often more tell instead of show, but I can’t help but love them. Learning more about Tom Riddle and the horcruxes was very interesting.

Unfortunately, I’m not a fan of the romantic developments in this novel. J.K. Rowling tried to include feminism in this instalment, but very much failed. That was clearly noticeable by the way the girls treated their “competition”.

Furthermore, I don’t understand Harry and Ginny. Where did that come from? I know nearly everyone loves that pairing, but at least with Cho, we know he liked her beforehand. Don’t even get me started about the way he treated Cho and made fun of her for crying often. Like I said, J.K. Rowling tried, but failed.

deathly hallowsFinal instalments are very tricky, but I don’t think Deathly Hallows disappoints. The final chapter might have reminded me too of Cursed Child *shudders*, but other than that, I loved it. The final battle in the castle was so much better than the one in the film! I also loved that this one showed how complex characters can be; Dumbledore, Snape and Lupin in particular. Having said that, I think that complexity goes lost when Harry practically adores Dumbledore and Snape in the end. Honestly, I could keep talking about this series! Every time I re-read it, I have even more things to say!

lambs can always become lions.pngI wrote a review for Lambs Can Always Become Lions, so I won’t discuss this one as thorough as the previous titles. This novella, however, did not disappoint! It features an established F/F romance and the writing was gorgeous! I would recommend this to everyone. I will definitely re-read Lambs Can Always Become Lions once the sequel comes out. (review)

little monsters.pngIf you are a fan of Pretty Little Liars, Little Monsters is the book for you! I received an ARC via Netgalley and while I found the ending a bit of an anti-climax, I still thought this was a decent YA thriller! It has certainly convinced me that I should pick up this genre more often. (review)

when dimple met rishi.pngI had expected to love When Dimple Met Rishi, but unfortunately, that wasn’t the case. If you enjoy M/F romances, I’d suggest picking this book up, but don’t do it if the competition appeals to you, because you will end up feeling disappointed. Furthermore, a lot of ableist language was used and in my opinion, the queer representation was harmful. (review)

down among the sticks and bones.pngSomeone recommend the audiobook of Down Among the Sticks and Bones to me and it did not disappoint! I really liked how the author narrated it, but I unfortunately found the plot rather dull. Perhaps I should’ve re-read Every Heart a Doorway beforehand. My full review will be posted on Saturday!

what does consent really mean.png

Finally, I read an e-ARC of What Does Consent Really Mean, a graphic novel about consent. Unfortunately, the formatting was absolutely awful, so I couldn’t enjoy this as much as I had hoped to. I might re-read this once final copies are released, because I thought this was a good introduction to the topic of consent. My full review will be posted on Thursday!


So this was my July 2017 wrap-up! Which books did you read this month?

name2

Twitter Chalky Blue  Pinterest Chalky Blue  Instagram Chalky Blue  Gplus Chalky Blue  Email Chalky Blue  Bloglovin Chalky Blue

 

 

4 thoughts on “July 2017 wrap-up

  1. Yasmine @ Swissbookworm says:

    Yay for you reading the last 3 Harry Potter books! And Little Monsters looks pretty interesting, I might just add it to my TBR.

    Great list! I only managed to read A Thousand Pieces Of You in July, but I’m okay with that because I had so much going on. Hopefully we’ll both be able to find enough time to read again in August. 🙂

    Here’s my July Wrap Up @ Swissbookworm

    xxx Yasmine

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ashley says:

    It really bothers me when people complain about how angsty Harry is in Order of the Phoenix, especially when he has every right to be. He witnessed a fellow student get murdered, people don’t believe him about certain things, and he was kept in the dark about things that have been going on! I would be whiny and rude if I had to deal with all the things Harry dealt with in book five!

    Like

  3. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews says:

    Great reading month! I reread Philosopher’s Stone last month and I really want to continue rereading the series!! It makes me so angry when people complain about Harry’s emotions in OotP, like what do y’all expect? The kid has gone through SO MUCH trauma and abuse. I’d be lashing out too. Also oh my god yes, at Harry/Ginny coming out of NOWHERE. That made zero sense. For a series that relies so much on backstories and build up I thought that was so poorly developed, because there was literally nothing before hand except Ginny’s one sided crush.

    Like

Leave a Reply

