review: Down Among the Sticks and Bones

down among the sticks and bones.png

Down Among the Sticks and Bones

by Seanan McGuire

read in July 2017

format: audiobook

spoiler-free review!


“I am what I am, and there’s much about me that won’t be changed with any amount of wishing or wanting.

Because I listened to Down Among the Sticks and Bones on audiobook, this review is going to much less thorough than usual. I don’t take notes while listening and I honestly don’t really have a strong opinion on this novella.

Someone recommended this audiobook to me and it did not disappoint! It’s narrated by the author herself and she uses a different “voice” for each character, which is a must for me. I definitely plan to re-read Every Heart a Doorway soon by listening to it on audiobook as well.

Talking about Every Heart a Doorway: I think I would’ve enjoyed Down Among the Sticks and Bones more if the first one was still fresh in my memory. Unfortunately, I read it back in December 2016, so I didn’t remember much about Jack and Jill.

The world these twins end up in is supposed to be scary, but I thought this novella was rather uneventful. It was more tell than show. Which I on the one hand could appreciate, because it had a certain fairytale-appeal to it. But if Down Among the Sticks and Bones would’ve been more character-driven, I wouldn’t have mind so much, but the characters weren’t as fleshed out as I would’ve liked. Surely they weren’t perfect and had their flaws, but what drove them? Why did they act the way they did?

Therefore, I wasn’t very attached to them. Even the fact that this novella features a F/F romance couldn’t lift my spirits. So ultimately, I do feel disappointed, but I plan on re-reading this once I re-read Every Heart a Doorway first.


The author narrates her work beautifully. I would definitely recommend it, but make sure to read Every Heart a Doorway shortly beforehand, to make sure you aren’t out of the loop like I was.

name2

Twitter Chalky Blue  Pinterest Chalky Blue  Instagram Chalky Blue  Gplus Chalky Blue  Email Chalky Blue  Bloglovin Chalky Blue

2 thoughts on “review: Down Among the Sticks and Bones

  1. Huntress of Diverse Books says:

    I just read Every Heart A Doorway and I felt so confused, because I didn’t find the worldbuilding detailed nor the characters fleshed out. Does this book describe the world that the twins went to in more detail and explain what their motivations for ending up in that world were?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

