We Are Okay: a beautiful book about grief

we are okay.png

we are okay.pngWe Are Okay

by Nina LaCour

read in July 2017

format: hardcover

spoiler-free review


“No one will know if you stay in bed all day. No one will know if you wear the same sweatpants for the entire month, if you eat every meal in front of television shows and use T-shirts as napkins. Go ahead and listen to that same song on repeat until its sound turns to nothing and you sleep the winter away.”

Well, I’m certainly not okay after reading We Are Okay. It’s been a long time since a book made me cry! It’s hard to explain why I love this book, but I do. Marin’s story really spoke to me.

At first, I wasn’t sure whether I wanted to continue this novel. It’s primarily set in winter while it’s summer over here, so the mood didn’t feel quite right. But I decided to give it another chance and I devoured the majority of We Are Okay in one night.

I think a reason why this novel was so relatable, is because of my mental illnesses. Though Marin is grieving, I understood why she postponed facing her fears and dreads, why she reacted the way she did. Same ableist language is used, but I can forgive it because the characters were very emotional while saying these things. Still, I want to point this out because not everyone might be okay with it.

We Are Okay wasn’t like I had expected. I initially picked this up because of the F/F representation, but it wasn’t as prominent as I had expected. But I do not mind at all. The novel contains flashbacks and a mystery, which were both very well done. I never saw the “big reveal” coming, whereas this isn’t a mystery novel, but a YA contemporary. I think the author did a great job and I will certainly pick up more of her work! This story is certainly character-driven, which generally works for me, and We Are Okay is no exception.


I would absolutely recommend We Are Okay to everyone! It’s a quick, beautiful read about grief, featuring queer female characters and a Mexican-American love interest.

name2

Twitter Chalky Blue  Pinterest Chalky Blue  Instagram Chalky Blue  Gplus Chalky Blue  Email Chalky Blue  Bloglovin Chalky Blue

8 thoughts on “We Are Okay: a beautiful book about grief

    • Chelsea ϟ romweasley says:

      Thank you very much! I don’t know whether the characters have mental illnesses, but they’re grieving, so the symptoms were similar to e.g. being depressed. And that’s why I related to this novel. So I would particularly say this book represents MIs, but it’s still a great novel!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. delphinethebabbler says:

    Beautifully written review – I definitely enjoyed reading this! We Are Okay has been on my TBR for quite some time now, but I still have yet to read it, due to all the author requested books I’m currently behind in *eek*.
    I always enjoy books about mental illness and one’s exploration of it, so I already have high expectations for this title.
    I look forward to more posts from you in the future Chelsea… Happy Reading! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Chelsea ϟ romweasley says:

      Thank you. I don’t know whether the characters have mental illnesses, but they’re grieving, so the symptoms were similar to e.g. being depressed. And that’s why I related to this novel. So I wouldn’t particularly say this book represents MIs, but it’s still a great novel!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

