Down the TBR Hole: #11-20

round 2.png

Hello, my fellow book lovers. Today, it’s time for round 2 of down the TBR hole, which was created by Lost in a Story. From time to time, I’ll go to my Goodreads to-read shelf and change the order to ‘ascending date added’. I’ll pick ten books on that list and decide whether or not they’ll remain on my TBR.

angelfall.pngMy sister read the Angelfall series a few years ago and she loved it. Besides her, however, I haven’t seen that many people talk about this series. I know nothing about the plot and I’m afraid it’s going to contain many of the same tropes as the other YA dystopia/fantasy novels that were released around that time.

verdict: remove from TBR

the secret history.pngI started The Secret History one night a couple of summers ago, but when there came no end to the first chapter, I decided to put it down. And I haven’t picked it up since! I have the feeling I’m going to love this novel, but I just haven’t had the time to read it. Which is bullsh*t, because I have read much bigger novels such as A Game of Thrones since, but still 😀

verdict: remains on physical TBR

the girl on the train.pngI’ve heard so many mixed opinions on the Girl on the Train: some compare it to Gone Girl, others were very disappointed by it. That’s why I want to see for myself whether this novel lives up to the hype. I haven’t seen the film yet, so know nothing about the plot. I’m thinking about listening to it on audiobook.

verdict: remains on physical TBR

the final empireI mentally removed The Final Empire from my TBR a couple of weeks ago when I learnt that Sanderson is very queerphobic. A simple Google search will let you know what I’m talking about. I’ve heard nothing but good things about this series, but how can I support an author that doesn’t even support my very existence? I could try and separate him from his work, just like I do with Maggie Stiefvater and J.K. Rowling, but what would that say about me? That I’m willing to overlook queerphobia as long as the books don’t disappoint me? No thank you.

verdict: remove from TBR + to unhaul

amy and rogers epic detour.pngI don’t know much about this novel, but it’s seems like an enjoyable read on a warm summer’s day. I’m usually not a fan of YA contemporaries that revolve around an allocishet M/F romance, but like I said, this book might be fun.

verdict: remains on physical TBR

carry onWhen Carry On was released, I had to have this book right away! Everyone was raving about it. When it arrived, I quickly put it down because I wasn’t in the mood for it. I haven’t picked it up since, and I don’t think I ever will. Carry On seems like the peak of fetishisation: allocishet it’s hyped by fangirls who just love reading about boys falling in love, but wouldn’t ever willingly pick up a novel featuring a F/F relationship. Furthermore, I haven’t heard many positive things about the queer – especially bi – represenation in this novel.

verdict: remove from TBR + to unhaul

the art of being normal.pngI don’t know why the Art of Being Normal is still on my TBR, since I unhauled my copy a few months ago. I’m not interested in reading a cis author’s portrayal of a trans character in which the wrong pronouns are used throughout the entire blurb and the character is deadnamed!

verdict: remove from TBR + unhauled

the knife of never letting go.pngI own a cover of the Knife of Never Letting Go, but I’m never going to read it. Admittedly, I don’t know what it’s about, but I honestly have no interesting in finding out. Furthermore, I’ve read multiple of Ness’ novels and didn’t love any of them. So I guess this author just isn’t my cup of tea…

verdict: remove from TBR + to unhaul

the casual vacancy.pngI started reading the Casual Vacancy many, many years ago, back when I was still a J.K. Rowling fan. But I wasn’t able to finish it in time when I had to return it to the library. Since then, I’ve acquired my own copy and since I’m still a Harry Potter fan, though no longer a fan of the author, I do want to read this novel, even though it’s probably incredibly dill. However, just like The Cuckoo’s Calling, these books will probably remain unread for a very long time to come.

verdict: remains on physical TBR

the darkest minds.pngI have mixed feelings about this series. On the one hand, I want to know why everyone loved it a few years ago, but on the other, I’m afraid this is going to be terribly trope-y. But isn’t this being adapted to film soon? if so and I’m interested after seeing the trailer, I might want to read this book.

verdict: remains on physical TBR


So this was my second Down the TBR Hole post. Once again, I kept way too many books on my TBR! Do you think I made any mistakes in my verdicts? Let me know in the comments!

name2

Twitter Chalky Blue  Pinterest Chalky Blue  Instagram Chalky Blue  Gplus Chalky Blue  Email Chalky Blue  Bloglovin Chalky Blue

Leave a Reply

